You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 2nd, 2009, 12:41 PM   #1
mooner
Member
Canada

mooner is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Help! Final PLC Project

I am working on my Final PLC project. We have to design a Traffic Light System. Red is on for 7.5 Seconds, Green 5 secs and Yellow 2.5. There are only two sets of lights needed. North South and East West.

I have the light sequence working, the problem I am having is with the interrupt. We need to have an interrupt for predestrian crossing. Then when pushed it switches the light sequence.

Thanks for the help
  Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 12:52 PM   #2
mooner
Member
Canada

mooner is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
This is what I have so far


Pages 3 and 4
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Project1.pdf (28.3 KB, 119 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 12:56 PM   #3
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is online now
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 7,078
Quote:
I am working on my Final PLC project.
Good for you.
Quote:
We have to design a Traffic Light System. Red is on for 7.5 Seconds, Green 5 secs and Yellow 2.5. There are only two sets of lights needed. North South and East West.
That sounds pretty simple.
Quote:
I have the light sequence working
Congratulations!
Quote:
the problem I am having is with the interrupt.
Uh-Oh.
Quote:
We need to have an interrupt for predestrian crossing. Then when pushed it switches the light sequence.
Modify your existing program to include it.
Quote:
Thanks for the help
You're welcome.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 12:58 PM   #4
mooner
Member
Canada

mooner is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
I am asking for help here, and yet all you do is tell me to modify my existing program

I figured you would be able to help me with that rather then be a ****ing dick about it
  Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 01:09 PM   #5
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is online now
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 7,078
You claim you've got the normal sequence working, but I have my doubts. Have you actually run this on a real PLC? What is the "Traffic_Light" symbol?
  Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 01:12 PM   #6
mooner
Member
Canada

mooner is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Yes I have run it on an actually PLC, thew Traffic_light symbol is my power switch to start the actually sequence of the traffic lights
  Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 01:16 PM   #7
mooner
Member
Canada

mooner is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
I know for a fact the light sequence is working, I have tested in on the Siemens PLC we are using. I have tried several ways of adding in an interrupt but none have worked. I have tried adding in a reset to the circuit to resest the sequence but that is only causing the timers to reset. The traffic lights are still staying the same.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 01:17 PM   #8
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is online now
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 7,078
So after one cycle you have to turn the Traffic_Light switch off and then back on to start another cycle? That's not quite the way the traffic lights I'm familiar with operate.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 01:19 PM   #9
Terry Woods
Member
United States

Terry Woods is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,170
Be the computer!

Mooner,

Consider this very carefully...
What would YOU do if YOU were the computer?
What would YOU do if YOU had to control the lights manually?

Make a list, step by step, of how YOU would handle the interrupt.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 01:22 PM   #10
bernie_carlton
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

bernie_carlton is offline
 
bernie_carlton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 6,340
Steve is being cranky because we get so many of these. At least you have shown some work while many show absolutely nothing and expect the whole thing to be handed to them.

Post the following:

Exactly how will the pedestrian crossing affect the normal sequence.

Show a 'non-pedestrian' timing diagram for the complete cycle.

Then show a 'pedestrian-interrupted' timing diagram.

Actually, creating both of these will probably give you the answer without our help.
__________________
Controlling outputs is the PLC's way of getting its inputs to change.

www.thePLCguy.com
  Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 01:24 PM   #11
bernie_carlton
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

bernie_carlton is offline
 
bernie_carlton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 6,340
Steve - there's a timer reset at the fourth rung. That appears to be the cycle repeat method.
__________________
Controlling outputs is the PLC's way of getting its inputs to change.

www.thePLCguy.com
  Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 01:52 PM   #12
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is online now
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 7,078
Bernie,

You're right. I missed that.

Mooner,

What lights are supposed to be on during the pedestrian step? Red in both directions?

I'm going to try to give you a hint without too obviously handing you a solution. Have you considered the possibility of adding an additional step to your sequence as well as using a variable as a timer's preset instead of a constant?
  Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 03:52 PM   #13
jvdcande
Member
Belgium

jvdcande is offline
 
jvdcande's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Menen
Posts: 2,178
There used to be a thread about a traffic light program where an SFC was posted. It even had three interrupts. I remember one of the replies implied we have really, really big monitors over here in our very little country. Ah, if there only was a search button available on this site .
__________________
Jean Pierre Vandecandelaere
Professional expert industry
VDAB Hoofdbestuur
Gasthuisstraat 31 - 10e verd
B-1000 Brussel
Belgium
  Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 04:07 PM   #14
Longhorn
Member
United Kingdom

Longhorn is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 250
I have completed this task before but using Logixpro, my appoach was to set a retentive timer to a reasonable large value ( enough to cover a full cycle) then using "Limits" allow each light an allocated slot of time. When a pedestrian crossing button is pressed, it requested an "ok to cross" latch which i only allowed whilst the red light was active.
The best way is to plan out the steps as the others say and then think about how and when you can slot in the pedestrian crossing part, try a flow chart.

Hope this helps

LH
__________________
To the optimist, the glass is half full. To the pessimist, the glass is half empty. To the engineer, the glass is twice as big as it needs to be!
  Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2009, 09:02 PM   #15
Stationmaster
Member
United States

Stationmaster is offline
 
Stationmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 577
"Dick" is okay but "a m b i e n" gets censored????? mmmmmKaaaayyyyyYYYY....


Okay, I'm not trying to be a "dick" here, but if you only have two sets of lights, (N/S and E/W) why do you need a "pedestrian" function? What exactly does it do? Shouldn't the pedestrian just WAIT and cross when light is green in his or her direction?

Do you REALLY want to stop traffic in all directions at a busy intersection so one person can saunter across the street? (The right-turn-on-red traffic will likely get 'em anyway.)

At ANY rate, you have to have a better description than a "pedestrian interrupt" to define the function well enough to start programming. (A metaphor for "you have to listen to your customer well enough to know what he REALLY wants").

Once you figure out, STEP by STEP, whats going to happen when the button is pushed, your first step might be to latch on a relay that only UN-latches when the "pedestrian function" has been executed (step by step).

Stationmaster
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
want help for my final project vijay_chavda854 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 May 5th, 2008 05:19 AM
Cause and Effect for PLC Project macs_plc LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 April 26th, 2008 08:34 AM
help me regarding my project on plc santosh_43 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 December 18th, 2006 02:22 AM
AD DL06 programming help ThermoT LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 46 June 7th, 2006 09:21 AM
PLC & scada project xman01 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 April 21st, 2005 01:21 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:04 AM.


.