Ethernet or Serial port

AGENTTINFOIL

Which do you guys prefer to communicate with PLC's and HMI's Ethernet or serial port? At my new job that I went to several months ago I found that everything is on ethernet. totally new to me since I cut my teeth on the serial port. All the guy's made fun of me when they found that I never really used ethernet to communicate before, and they all said there was never a need for the serial port here. I found that they was wrong... I ran into a situation when I needed my serial port and it saved the day. I have to admit I really like the ethernet because I can connect to the network from home and solve issues with out going in, not to mention I am able to VNC into any of the touch panels as well, which is pretty cool. I am fairly new to programming and have really only been messing with code for about a 1 1/2 years now, and man have I came a long way. Can anyone give any examples where an ethernet connection would be useless over the serial port? I welcome another opportunity to get my own laugh... Of course the joke is always on the new guy

If you are only driving a screen off a PLC serial is more than adequate. A lot cheaper too. If you are driving several screens from a/several PLCs Ethernet is the go unless you have a prorietary network that is being used as peer to peer communications and will drive the screens. Proprietary is my preferred option over Ethernet for peer to peer.

Hey

All our panels communicate to PLC's over MPI or Profibus.

We do not have panels on ethernet. So, for downloading to a panel, we need to connect to the panel over MPI/PROFIBUS or SERIAL. And mostly I use Serial.

When you download to a new panel, and u want to use MPI/PROFIBUS to download to, then u need to enable that channel. Serial works allways and you never need to trouble shoot. Ethernet is the future, that's true, but not yet @ our plant.