Panel View 800 to Mitsubishi FX5U

Kab85

Hi all,
My company is cleaning out the shop and I came across a Mitsubishi FX5U, a ethernet/ip module for the FX5, a PanelView 800 HMI and a Lenze i550 ethernet/ip enabled drive. I was hoping to Frankenstein these components togethor to make something useful.

I'm having trouble communicating between the Panelview 800 HMI and the FX5U. I am attempting to do this over Modbus TCP because I read that PV800 won't communicate with anything outside of the AB family over ethernet ip and that modbus would be the most likely to work.

Does anyone know if it is even possible to incorporate a Panelview into a system other than AB? Am I wasting my time with it? Any help would be appreciated as I'm new to the communications side of things and am trying to teach myself but, unfortunately, I am a pretty long ways from being anywhere near competent enough to teach myself.

Hi there Kab85 and welcome to the forum. Very hilarious the expression to "Frankenstein" old equipment:ROFLMAO:. I will try to give you some guideline, but I am afraid you will be left wanting. I do not know enough about either of the products you mention, however I do know an thing or two about EtherNet/IP.