How PLC displays tank levels on touch screen graph.

termus123

Hi, I'm new to PLCs and my boss kind of forced a project on me regarding PLCs.

I am using a OMRON touch screen, CP1L, CP1W-AD041 and a 8BER

Logically the project is very simple, the ship has 8 ballast tanks to balance the ship, there is a switch for fill, a switch for empty and a stop switch for each of the 8 tanks.

I need to get my PLC to display a graph representation 0-100% of the current water level of its designated tank on the touch screen. To measure the water level I'm using a 4-20mA sensor.

On CX-Designer, the interface was a piece of cake to set up, however, the graphs on there I have no idea how to get that working.

The problem is that I've never touched a PLC or seen one in my life so I can't for the life of me figure out what I need to do in CX Programmer to get that graph working or if I even need to program anything? I'm assuming since the analogue sensor 4-20mAs is detecting the water pressure I need to do something in the CX Programmer to translate that into 0-100%? Or is it going to do that automatically? Where do I start?

LCMTanksDisplayScreen.jpg

The AD041 will produce a value of 0 to 6000 for the 4-20ma input. Those will appear in a CIO address like 002-005 depending on the CP1L model.
If those are Level Meters on your screen you could just scale them 0-6000 and attach them to the CIO address but that only works IF your inputs read 0 when the tank is empty and 6000 if when the tank is full.

Hi Mendonsy,

Thank you for your swift reply, the exact model of my CP1L is CP1L-EM30DR-D.

I have checked the spec sheet of AD041 prior to your commend and the resolution is as you say 0-6000.

Those are indeed level meters on the screen, my question is how do I scale those meters to 0-6000 but have it displayed in % and which program do I use to do it with? Because the screenshot was done in CX-Designer but shown in the screen below those are the only options I can find for the graph.