You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

View Poll Results: Which may be best suitable method ?
Switch on both motors at light load before switchover 1 7.69%
Run second motor from second source and then bring it to VFD control after switchover 1 7.69%
Not possible without interrupting load 1 7.69%
Using two VFD is inevitable 10 76.92%
Providing electrical and mechanical interlock and smooth switchover possible 2 15.38%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 13. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 19th, 2017, 10:24 AM   #16
ramyeshbt@gmail.com
Member
India

ramyeshbt@gmail.com is offline
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Karnataka
Posts: 8
The problem would be that the VFD already present is rugged with complicated speed control signals from station and it is more complicated to duplicate another VFD with the same .
  Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2017, 02:28 PM   #17
dmargineau
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmargineau is offline
 
dmargineau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Midwest
Posts: 2,255
Provide an output manifold pressure intensifier at nominal system pressure, with the capacity to supply the system for the interval of time required to Stop VFD with Motor #1-> Switch VFD Load Side to Motor #2 -> Start VFD with Motor #2.

The pressure intensifier will be 'throttled' via proportional flow control valve with close loop feedback from an output manifold pressure transducer; I believe you should be able to execute a pretty smooth transfer from Pump #1 Pressure to Intensifier Pressure and then back to Pump #2 Pressure after the VFD switchover.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2017, 03:39 PM   #18
proof
Member
United States

proof is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramyeshbt@gmail.com View Post
No, two pumps running on two motors supplying through valves to single column
This sounds like you are planning to run two pumps at the same time in parallel. For this to work, you need to have both pump putting out the same amount of head. This is usually done by running two of the same model of pump running at the same speed. This calls for 2 VFDs.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cooling radiator, multi motors, vfd or contactors? g.mccormick LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 September 25th, 2013 06:27 PM
One VFD two motors leitmotif LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 31 August 15th, 2011 03:31 AM
Seimens VFD issue ascot01 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 February 14th, 2009 10:19 PM
VFD -- Reverse only one of two motors leitmotif LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 September 25th, 2007 12:41 PM
Can a VFD do magic with motors Goody LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 37 February 25th, 2004 02:01 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 PM.


.