12 key keypad to 8 bit input card

Nepiter

Hi,

I am sort of newbie here..:oops:

Maybe someone could help me with my small project..
I have 8 bit input card ( and of course S7-317 cpu etc.)
Also i have storm interface 12-key keypad with 8 pins.
http://www.storm-interface.com/product_attachments/PLXSeries.pdf

I thought i could connect that keypad easily to my 8 bit input card, to activate each bit at each key press, but keypad contact matrix is making me dizy.. =)

Contact matrix is: key_number=pin+pin
1=1+3, 2=1+4, 3=1+5, 4=2+3, 5=2+4, 6=2+5, 7=8+3, 8=8+4, 9=8+5,
0=7+4, *=7+1, #=7+6

How an earth I can connect those contacts to 8 bit inputs to get something out from keypad..?

Contact matrix is: key_number=pin+pin
1=1+3, 2=1+4, 3=1+5, 4=2+3, 5=2+4, 6=2+5, 7=8+3, 8=8+4, 9=8+5,
0=7+4, *=7+1, #=7+6

Recheck the assignments for '*' and '#'
I see them as '*' = 7+3 and '#' as 7+5

In any case you'll have to use 3 outputs and 4 inputs (or vice versa) and some scanning logic.

In any case you'll have to use 3 outputs and 4 inputs (or vice versa) and some scanning logic.

Yes, You are right, thank You for correcting!
I studied contact matrix too fast..

3 outputs and 4 inputs are maybe solution for this.
It is worth of trying. Thank You!

I tought i figured out how to use 3 outputs and 4 inputs, to get cross reference for keypad, but no..
Any tips for easy scanning log?

I was just thinking if i use three different amplitudes for three outputs, and scan those amplituses from four inputs.
But of course, i cant get enough Herz from outputs to measure stabile amplitude while key is pressed.
Stupid idea.. :eek:

Of course I can write some rule near by keypad "press each key at least one second".. =)

part of the problem you will run into is that your going to need to trap the row inputs and the columm inputs. so set it up as thuogh you are using momentary contacts which these are.