Real Time Clock in Simatic S7?

sreev

I am used to accessing real time clock functions from S: registers in Allen Bradley PLCs. I am new to Simatic S7 and Step 7 software. I am wondering if there is a similar function for S7-314 CPU and how it can be accessed in Step 7 programming. I would highly appreciate any help in this area. I tried searching the forum and Step 7 documentation.

With SFC 1 "READ_CLK" (read system clock), you read the current date or current time of the system clock of the CPU.

You can also in alternative:
open the OB1 block.
write these 6 lines

L LB 12 // Year
L LB 13 // Month
L LB 14 // day
L LB 15 // Hour
L LB 16 // Minute
L LB 17 // Second

Sreev, this has been discussed before. Take a look at this thread, and you'll find additional info on how to use SFC1.

Rgua, the date and time variable that you find in OB1 only indicates the start-up time of OB1, not the current time.

Date & Time in OB1 are start time of OB1 and it starts every cycle.

Rgua, that is great info. All these years I thought OB1's date_time variable referred to the time that OB1 started after going from Stop to Run. If it is the dynamic time, I will be able to eliminate SFC1 from most of my programs. Thanks for setting this straight.

You guys are great! Can't wait to try your suggestions in the morning. This Step 7 is quite different from RSLogix stuff (which I have been using for years) but I think I will get a hang of it one of these days. I am glad one of my clients has forced me to use Siemens on a project. I look forward to learning a lot from this great forum and also hope to contribute some of my own experience.

Wow, an S7 item S7Guy didn't know! This has got to be news. Since I started reading/using this forum, I think just about every S7 question came to an end when the God had spoken.

I've been in awe so far, but maybe there's hope for us all. He does have an Achilles heel.

Regards

Ken.