You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread October 10th, 2019, 06:30 AM   #1
Lars Brooke
Member
Denmark

Lars Brooke is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Vejle
Posts: 1
Tia 15.1, HMI and PLC via OPC

Hi fellow Geeks :-)

I am about to make a project, that needs to expand over time. So i am wondering whether it is possible to make all connection between PLC(s7-1500
) and HMI(comfort) throu a OPC UA server. So both my PLC and HMI runs as Clients.

Just to make it all a bit more interesting I have never worked with OPC before, so i would like to make some test-simulation via PLCSIM 15.1. to make sure i have done my job.
Does anyone have a good idea for a server i can test with?

Regards,
Lars
  Reply With Quote
Unread October 10th, 2019, 06:51 AM   #2
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,974
Hej Lars.

One side has to be client and the other server. You cannot have both being clients.

You cannot simulate OPC UA with 'regular' PLCSIM.
PLCSIM advanced should support OPC UA, but I have never tried it.

Also, be warned that the OPC UA Server on Siemens CPUs is far less performant than a 'regular' S7 Connection.
You can play around with this Wizard for estimating the transmission time for OPC UA data by an OPC Server on the S7 CPU:
https://www.automation.siemens.com/p...ion=34&lang=en

For a lot of data and using Siemens components I would go with a regular S7 connection.
__________________
Jesper
See my profile interests for Q&A
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siemens HMI & PLC different TIA Portal pojects version maeu LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 May 22nd, 2018 10:43 AM
Connecting HMI to plc in another TIA project aand74 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 February 6th, 2018 09:51 AM
How to use a General PC as HMI + PLC S7 1200 + TIA v.13 mihesper LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 December 4th, 2016 07:38 AM
Hmi connection to plc ( Tia portal v13) MohammedKayed LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 April 3rd, 2015 05:19 PM
Magelis hmi xbtg4320 and a twido plc twdlcda24drf asim_rana LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 23 February 3rd, 2012 01:37 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 PM.


.