You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 21st, 2020, 12:20 AM   #1
James42005
Member
United States

James42005 is offline
 
James42005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Waterloo, IA
Posts: 24
Any iFix Gurus out there?

I have hit a wall on a request I received for a change to iFix. Operations want security added to a button which resets a counter. The way it works currently is there is an object with script, when clicked on, a confirmation popup is opened. If selected yes the scripts writes a command to the PLC tag to reset the counter. I need to add security over the button based on user group currently logged in. I have the user groups set up and functioning well, I use the security to limit changes to datalinks all the time but I am having trouble figuring out how to lock out the script from running based on security level. I am just learning VB so, any tips?
  Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2020, 07:03 AM   #2
g.mccormick
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

g.mccormick is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: IN
Posts: 669
Instead of keeping the script from running, can you check permissions inside script?
  Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2020, 07:09 AM   #3
parky
Member
United Kingdom

parky is offline
 
parky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Midlands
Posts: 1,582
Hmm.. I thought I just posted this but has not shown up oh well...

Dim Result As Integer
Dim UserID As String
Dim UserName As String
Dim GroupName As String
Dim UserInfo As String
System.FixGetUserInfo UserID, UserName, GroupName
Use FixGetUser system function to access to logged on user.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2020, 11:50 PM   #4
James42005
Member
United States

James42005 is offline
 
James42005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Waterloo, IA
Posts: 24
So... I am an idiot. Or maybe iFix sucks. Maybe a little bit of both. So I was able to do it with tag based security. I am not sure why I couldn't get it to work yesterday. I was really proud of myself at first because I thought I wrote really fancy script to do what I wanted, but it turned out it was doing nothing. Haha, oh well, a win is a win. Thanks for your help.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any iFix Gurus out there? James42005 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 February 12th, 2020 02:35 AM
iFix error! nfulmer LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 November 15th, 2010 09:59 PM
The proper way to run a iFix server? Console RDP? kdcui LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 November 9th, 2009 12:18 PM
iFix can't see the alarm tags!!! johnlam LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 June 6th, 2007 12:46 AM
!@#$ Intellution Ifix eastkodakguy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 October 22nd, 2004 06:05 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 AM.


.