Size up Mitsubishi PLC, need advise from expert.

ckchew666

Hi,

I'm new to Mitsubishi PLC, appreciate it if someone has experience in Mitsubishi PLC can give some advise on the following items if it comply the spec required.

DI=40 (24VDC), DO=10 (RELAY), AI=4 (4-20mA), AO=4 (4-20mA)
Communication = RS232 for programming via computer, RS232/RS485 for touch screen panel and ModBus slave for DCS interface

FX2N-32MR-ES/UL = BASE C/W DI=16, DO = 16 (RELAY)
FX0N-16EX = DIGITANL INPUT 16 PTS
FX0N-8EX = DIGITAL INPUT 8 PTS
FX2N-4AD = ANALOG INPUT 4 CHANNEL
FX2N-4DA = ANALOG OUTPUT 4 CHANNEL
FX0N-232ADP = RS232 MODULE FOR T/SCREEN
FX2N-485BD = RS485 FOR MODBUS COMM
GWY-00-B = MODBUS GATEWAY (PLC - DCS)

SC-09 (43393)
GX IEC DEVELOPER FXV0600-ILOC-E

All item 1 unit each.

1) I'm not sure if the Modbus gateway can be use?Normally what is the gateway that you guys use? Does Mitsubishi itself has Modbus module?
http://www.renuelectronics.com/gatewayoverview.htm

2) I can's save cost by using FX0N base because it only supports 2 expansion modules, correct me if I'm wrong.

Pls advise. Thanks.

Looks ok to me, however if you use the Beijers E terminals (from Mitsubishi) you do not need the 232 card as it will talk to the programming port & you can use the passthrough mode on the HMIfrom GX, you can use the same lead as for programming the HMI.
The GX iec is great but you must maintain the copy on disk as you will not be able to upload it back into GXIEC all you will get is a statement list & loose all your structure. The other alternative is GXDeveloper which uses straitfoward ladder.

The FX0N-232ADP module will require FX2N-CNV-BD adapter board which will occupy the only extension slot on the CPU.
Hence you will have nowhere to connect your FX2N-485BD.
You may have only one extra port over existing RS422, whatever type.

I am not sure the FX0N-16EX exists, probably it must read FX2N-16EX.

I am not familiar with Modbus. Sorry.