You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 20th, 2010, 11:42 AM   #1
DermotM
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

DermotM is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 21
Micrologix 1400 email setup

I want to setup alarm email notification from an ML1400 and have followed the instructions but still get an error. See Attached. My mail server is a server running Windows Server 2003 with Exchange. The server i/p is 192.168.16.2 which I have referenced in the setup, again the attached images tell the story. I have also tried using the DNS name instead of the i/p address but still get the same error. Although the email addresses in the images are not valid I have been using valid email addresses in the application. The error code seems to state 'Connection Timed Out By The Network' page 469 in the instruction set reference 1766-rm001. I would appreciate any suggestions anybody may have.

Regards to all
Dermot
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ml1400-1.jpg (38.7 KB, 347 views)
File Type: jpg ml1400-2.jpg (26.4 KB, 318 views)
File Type: jpg ml1400-3.jpg (12.0 KB, 290 views)
File Type: gif ml1400-4.gif (19.3 KB, 281 views)
File Type: gif ml1400-5.gif (16.6 KB, 290 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2010, 01:47 PM   #2
Kidblue
Lifetime Supporting Member
England

Kidblue is offline
 
Kidblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Worcester
Posts: 690
Shouldn't the IP address entered in the 'Multi Hop' be that of the actual ML1400? You have the email server address entered?

Are you sure the ML1400 can get out ok to the email server. That was the only issues we seem to have...

Regards,

Rob
__________________
Rob Howdle

.........For the Boys in Royal Blue !!
  Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2010, 02:15 PM   #3
bernie_carlton
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

bernie_carlton is offline
 
bernie_carlton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 6,253
Knowledgebase item 53965 seems to cover this but it looks like your configuration is ok. You add the authentication information.
__________________
Controlling outputs is the PLC's way of getting its inputs to change.

www.thePLCguy.com
  Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2010, 07:09 AM   #4
DermotM
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

DermotM is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 21
My reading of the multihop is that its the 'To' address (Server)

I have since tried your suggestion but get error 'dd' 'SMTP error' so have reverted back to the server address.

I have turned on message tracking in exchange on our server and attempted to send the msg again. I got the same error d6 'Connection timed out by the network' and nothing showed up in the message tracking log. I know my network connection to the ML1400 is good as i have a HMI connected over ethernet ip which is working and I can web into the ML1400.

Appreciate all your suggestions

Regards to all
Dermot
  Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2010, 12:47 PM   #5
Kidblue
Lifetime Supporting Member
England

Kidblue is offline
 
Kidblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Worcester
Posts: 690
Dermot,

I've attached a single page of a technote from AB (tried to post the whole document but it's too big). It may be useful to read through their example (if you want to PM or post your email i'll send it across).

You'll notice it does say to use the 'Local controllers IP' in the Multi-Hop option. I think it basically sends the email to itself then out to the SMTP server...

Hope this helps.

Rob
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Lab_1_1100_Email_Support.pdf (28.8 KB, 616 views)
__________________
Rob Howdle

.........For the Boys in Royal Blue !!
  Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2010, 01:17 PM   #6
DermotM
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

DermotM is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 21
Rob,

Much appreciate, I have set the multihop to both the PLC's ip add' and the one shown in your link and am now in both instances getting error code dd SMPT error which appears to be: 0x05dd (1501) Communication error with SMTP mail server. Again I checked message logging in exchange and no evidence of any attempted transmission. I'm still not sure if this error is on the PLC side or the exchange side, my feeling is its on the PLC side.

Many thanks
Dermot
Attached Images
File Type: gif ml1400-6.gif (19.7 KB, 240 views)
File Type: gif ml1400-7.gif (16.6 KB, 215 views)
File Type: gif ml1400-8.gif (10.2 KB, 214 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2010, 01:32 PM   #7
Kidblue
Lifetime Supporting Member
England

Kidblue is offline
 
Kidblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Worcester
Posts: 690
Dermot,

Not sure if it's relevant but when I set the channel config on our PLC's we had the 'Gateway' address the same as the 'Primary name server'??

The error you seem to be getting is the one we had when our PLC could not route out to the (internet based) email server...as soon as I set the Primary DNS to point to the internet, bingo!

Rob
__________________
Rob Howdle

.........For the Boys in Royal Blue !!
  Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2010, 09:06 AM   #8
DermotM
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

DermotM is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 21
Solved the problem!! I was using the exchange administrator email account for authentication and the from address, as soon as I gave the PLC its own account and PW in exchange and updated the chan1 smtp it worked. Just to recap Our DNS server (192.168.16.2) is seperate to our gateway but the gateway ip address (192.168.16.1) in chan 1 setup had no effect on the operation of smtp, I did try setting it to the same address as the server but was still getting the same error. Also in the multihop I set the ip add' to the PLC's ip

So thank you guys for your suggestions and help

Kind regards to all
Dermmot
  Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2013, 01:44 PM   #9
Mowgli86
Member
United Kingdom

Mowgli86 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 19
Sorry to drag this up from the depths of time.

Quote:
The error you seem to be getting is the one we had when our PLC could not route out to the (internet based) email server...as soon as I set the Primary DNS to point to the internet, bingo!
Kidblue, would you mind explaining how you got the PLC to contact an internet based mail server? I want to get the PLC to send a message via gmail. Do I put smtp.gmail.com in the email server name? Do I have to change anything on the channel 1 setup - 'set the Primary DNS to point to the inernet' - what does this mean?

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2018, 12:59 PM   #10
JUAN SOTERP
Member
Mexico

JUAN SOTERP is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: coahuila
Posts: 1
hello sr

you can send me the pdf text for instruction , send email by M1400
thank you
my emal Jus.1983@hotmail.com
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Micrologix 1400 firmware email question tacm LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 December 5th, 2017 05:26 AM
How To Enter Rslogix 5000???? sundar_scada LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 April 2nd, 2016 04:50 PM
Micrologix 1400.... Brijm LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 March 17th, 2015 07:01 AM
micrologix 1400 configuration with rslogix 500 sruthi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 April 7th, 2014 07:50 PM
MicroLogix 1400 problem shoelesscraig LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 September 12th, 2009 05:41 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 AM.


.