You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 3rd, 2012, 01:54 PM   #1
Saulo35
Member
Canada

Saulo35 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Coquitlam
Posts: 68
Siemens SIMATIC WinCC flexible 2008 Advanced - Installation Fails

Hi.

We purchased SIMATIC WinCC flexible 2008 Advanced SP3 and I am not able to install it.

Details:
- Desktop w/Intel Core2 Duo E8400 3.00 GHz 3.21 GB RAM
- No direct Internet access
- Windows XP Professional SP3
- Other SIMATIC software installed:
- STEP 7-MicroWIN V4.0.0.81E
- Rockwell software installed:
- RS Logix 500, RSLinx, RSLogix Emulate 500
- FactoryTalk View Studio
- Schneider software installed:
- Unity Pro S

I tried and tried several times, mostly uninstalling WinCC 2008 first, then using the CleanupSupportTool, exiting the Schneider Modbus Serial Driver, disabling the WinCC flexible Start Center, and then installing from the original DVD.

Once, I even stopped all the Rockwell and FactoryTalk services.

I saw the suggestions regarding the use of WMPlayer. I downloaded it and installed on this machine. When I tried to create a VM, I realized it requires either the Windows CD or .iso image. Then I thought that, without Internet access, the OS installation would miss all the updates, so I abandoned that path.

Sequence of events:

- I execute Setup.exe from the DVD
- I select Setup language: English at the Setup screen
- I click Next at the copyright, etc. warnings
- I click Next at the "read notes" screen (I read them, mostly)
- Find / Finding programs...
- I accept and click Next at the License agreements screen
- I select English as the Product Language
- I click Next at Programs to be installed; Full Installation,
Runtime/Simulation, License Manager and ProSave are already
selected.
- I accept and click Next at the System settings screen
- Installation starts - the following list appears:
- SIMATIC License Manager V5.1 SP1 Upd3
- SIMATIC WinCC flexible 2008 SP3
- SIMATIC WinCC flexible 2008 SP3 Runtime/Simulation
- SIMATIC ProSave V9.0 SP3
- Several status screens go by while Automation License
Manager installs
- SIMATIC License Manager V5.1 SP1 Upd3 Installing...
- After a while the License Manager installation completes and
WINCC flexible 2008 SP3 installation starts
- Several status screens go by
- SIMATIC WinCC flexible 2008 SP3 Installing...
- Validating install...
- Copying new files...
- A zillion filenames go by...
- Installing additional features...S7LST
- Installing additional features...Common files
- Installing additional features...S7DOS
- Installing additional features...PtSymLib
- Installing additional features...Tag Simulator
- Installing additional features...Simulator
- Please wait...and WHAM!!!

- The following program could not be installed
SIMATIC WinCC flexible 2008 SP3
Setup cannot complete the installation

- I click OK

- The following errors occurred during installation:
- Not all programs could be installed

You can find information in the "readme" file
The computer has to be restarted. Setup can restart the
computer now, or you can do it yourself later.

And that's it...

Any help will be appreciated.

Thank you!
  Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2012, 04:15 PM   #2
Mike_RH
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

Mike_RH is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 872
There is along file showing the results of the installs. I seem to remember the install will point you to where it is. I would start there to see why the install fails.
__________________
Mike
  Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2012, 04:20 PM   #3
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 13,072
Errors on the install DVD is not unlikely.
Try to install on another computer.
If the install fails, ask Siemens to send a new install DVD.
If the install works, it is not the DVD but something unexplicable on your PC. Yoy can try to completely remove all Siemens software. There is a FAQ about that. You have to manipulate the registry among other things.
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out
  Reply With Quote
Old October 3rd, 2012, 04:26 PM   #4
Saulo35
Member
Canada

Saulo35 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Coquitlam
Posts: 68
Thank you, JesperMP. I will follow your instructions. Do you remember where the FAQ is? In the PLCS.net forums, in the Siemens DVD, or in the Siemens website?
  Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2013, 07:14 AM   #5
joebutagaz
Member
France

joebutagaz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: ORLEANS
Posts: 1
Hi Saulo35,
I have the same problem, with the same software configuration, to install Wincc 2008 SP3.
Do you have found a solution?
Thank you
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinCC Flexible 2008 PC RT - 2 projects running on 1 PC Tajak LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 September 30th, 2016 05:37 AM
WinCC Flexible 2008 engrhammad LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 29th, 2012 01:11 AM
Simatic Wincc Flexible 2004 -->2005 STL??? LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 August 29th, 2006 05:42 AM
Siemens WinCC Flexible Routing Question Moi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 October 31st, 2005 06:11 AM
Wincc Flexible Advanced 2004 Issue Rookie_Eng LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 September 17th, 2005 09:55 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 PM.


.