Siemens License not found

lunenburger

First off, I have always worked with Alllen Bradley PLC's and this is my first time working with Siemens....

We are upgrading a windows 7 computer running Simatic NET v8.2 SP1
To a windows 10 computer running Simatic Step 7 Professional V13 SP2

We have transferred the licenses from the windows 7 computer to a Siemens dongle, and are using that dongle in the windows 10 computer.

When we open the license manager on the windows 10 computer, it sees the licenses and everything looks good.

I am not sure of the process after that, but we open tia portal to search for the PLC but it says no devices found.

If we try to add the PLC manually by model number it says that the step 7 license is not found???

I can ping the PLC through cmd and it is there, do you have to set up a driver first in tia portal like in RSLinx? if so I can't find where that is??

Any direction would be greatly appreciated....

So I'm assuming we downloaded the incorrect version of Simatec?

Where would I find the download for Simatec Net version 13 SP2 ?

And would the version 8.2 SP1 license work with 13 SP2 ?

I have always had to open ALM and move the license needed to the C hard drive to have it seen.

Then, after you are done check in ALM to make sure it is not still In Use. If it is reopen and close TIA - sometimes more than once to get it to check OK, then transfer it back to the USB drive.

Another problem sometimes is if there are a lot of licenses that it takes longer for ALM to check them than for TIA to open, and TIA reports no license found and closes.

I have looked on the Siemens website, and I can't figure out how to download Simatic NET v13 SP2???
Anyone have any experience downloading software from Siemens website.
I thought Rockwell's website was bad for downloading software....