To Latch Or Not To Latch

BOWRIDER

Hello again fellas! I have a little question/observation. I am fairly new to the wonders of plc programming. I probably started self study at work and at home about two years ago almost exclusively on AB rslogix and feel that I have become fairly proficient at discrete type programming. I have yet to venture into analog or pid stuff yet but I will save that for another time.
What I have noticed during my studies is for reasons unknown to myself until just recently, is I have always favored latching outputs, bits etc using a branch as opposed to the OTL and OTU instructions. Recently while troubleshooting a program at work that had many otl and otu instructions I think it has dawned on me as to why they were never popular with me. The reason is troubleshooting. My feeble mind finds it very distracting to have to jump back and forth in the program finding all the latches and unlatches for a particular output.
Now for my questions.... Which method do you seasoned guys prefer? and also do other manufactures programming software contain their own versions of the OTL and OTU instructions? I can't stay here tonight but I look forward to reading your replies Tomorrow.
good night gentlemen! And happy Halloween!

I don't have a problem with either method. Each has their pluses and minuses.

If your code is really modular then handling latch/unlatch is pretty straight forward and really easy to troubleshoot.

As in the case for any PLC programming, careful planning (organization) rules the day.

There will be plenty of others that say NO! NO! NEVER USE LATCH/UNLATCH!

Those are guys that have been burned by their own inadequate planning.

Latch & Unlatch are reasonable tools to use... otherwise... why do they exist?

It boils down to careful usage and organization... just like anything else in programming.

YOU'RE NOT DOING IT RIGHT!