You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 18th, 2020, 04:39 AM   #1
akky
Member
India

akky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 13
Connecting Micrologix 1400 through Ethernet

I have a Micrologix 1400 to which Ive assigned a specific IP address.
Now when I am trying to configure it in Rslinx, i cannot find it under Ethernet devices.
When i try to configure it under Ethernet IP, i find the device but I am unable to go online through that in RsLogix
i can ping as well as view the html page
Kindly help and revert if any info is missing.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2020, 06:25 AM   #2
BachPhi
Member
United States

BachPhi is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Alamos
Posts: 463
how did you create a driver in rslinx, show screenshots
  Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2020, 06:32 AM   #3
akky
Member
India

akky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 13
Connecting Micrologix 1400 through Ethernet

Here you go, the screenshot
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot (143).png (23.6 KB, 155 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2020, 06:33 AM   #4
akky
Member
India

akky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 13
Connecting Micrologix 1400 through Ethernet

As you can see, even though it shows the plc in EthernetIP, I cannot go online through it in Rslogix
  Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2020, 07:24 AM   #5
BachPhi
Member
United States

BachPhi is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Alamos
Posts: 463
remove the other driver w/ yellow question mark. unplug the cable to ML, then ping the address to verify that's only address.

Reconnect and retry
  Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2020, 07:24 AM   #6
77nomad
Member
United States

77nomad is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Mi.
Posts: 35
Do you have a static IP on your PC? Are the sub net and gateway the same? Can you ping it?
  Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2020, 09:27 AM   #7
BachPhi
Member
United States

BachPhi is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Alamos
Posts: 463
i can ping as well as view the html page
Kindly help and revert if any info is missing.[/QUOTE]

Quote:
Originally Posted by 77nomad View Post
Do you have a static IP on your PC? Are the sub net and gateway the same? Can you ping it?
  Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2020, 09:40 AM   #8
77nomad
Member
United States

77nomad is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Mi.
Posts: 35
are you asking how to set your static IP?
  Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2020, 10:25 AM   #9
BachPhi
Member
United States

BachPhi is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Alamos
Posts: 463
can you reread post 1
  Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2020, 12:36 AM   #10
aztk
Member
Mexico

aztk is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Mexico
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by akky View Post
As you can see, even though it shows the plc in EthernetIP, I cannot go online through it in Rslogix
You need to change path to the new one.

In RsLogix go to "Communication" > "Who active". Navigate through the tree, select ML and click on "Set Path".

I hope I understood your question.

Saludos.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2020, 07:03 AM   #11
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 6,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by akky View Post
i find the device but I am unable to go online through that in RsLogix
Quote:
Originally Posted by aztk
You need to change path to the new one.
I think you are not setting up RSLogix

aztk is correct... after you setup RSLinx you can not just click go-online in RSLogix you must now a driver in RSLogix, click on COMMS then System Comms and find your driver that you setup in RSLinx and then click online, upload or download
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more...OEM and aftermarket supplies... Aftermarket 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+, new USB to 485 modbus
  Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2020, 09:34 PM   #12
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 15,392
There is something unusual going on in akky's system.

In general, being able to PING a MicroLogix and connect to its embedded webpage is a very good indication that the controller and the computer are physically and logically connected to the same IP network.

But getting an Unrecognized Device icon in the Ethernet Devices driver while getting the correct MicroLogix 1400 icon in the EtherNet/IP driver is not normal.

My first few tests would be:

1. Physically disconnect the MicroLogix and re-try PING and HTTP to verify that there is no IP address conflict.

2. With the MicroLogix still disconnected, click on the drivers in RSLinx/RSWho and let them autobrowse, and verify that both the Ethernet Devices and Ethernet/IP drivers show a red X over the icon after 10-30 seconds.

3. Reconnect the MicroLogix to the network, and verify that both drivers successfully browse it and show their icons again.

4. Collect the firmware revisions (from the webpage of the MicroLogix) and the software revisions of RSLinx and RSLogix.

Carefully collect and post any error messages that you get during the RSLogix 500 "go online" or "who active go online" process.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2020, 06:47 AM   #13
akky
Member
India

akky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by 77nomad View Post
Do you have a static IP on your PC? Are the sub net and gateway the same? Can you ping it?
yes my pc has a static ip
  Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2020, 06:57 AM   #14
akky
Member
India

akky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Roach View Post
There is something unusual going on in akky's system.

In general, being able to PING a MicroLogix and connect to its embedded webpage is a very good indication that the controller and the computer are physically and logically connected to the same IP network.

But getting an Unrecognized Device icon in the Ethernet Devices driver while getting the correct MicroLogix 1400 icon in the EtherNet/IP driver is not normal.

My first few tests would be:

1. Physically disconnect the MicroLogix and re-try PING and HTTP to verify that there is no IP address conflict.

2. With the MicroLogix still disconnected, click on the drivers in RSLinx/RSWho and let them autobrowse, and verify that both the Ethernet Devices and Ethernet/IP drivers show a red X over the icon after 10-30 seconds.

3. Reconnect the MicroLogix to the network, and verify that both drivers successfully browse it and show their icons again.

4. Collect the firmware revisions (from the webpage of the MicroLogix) and the software revisions of RSLinx and RSLogix.

Carefully collect and post any error messages that you get during the RSLogix 500 "go online" or "who active go online" process.
Hey Ken,
I checked and there is no IP address conflict. Also I tried to change the path in Who active but it showed as follows in the screenshot:
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot (145).png (98.8 KB, 12 views)
File Type: png Screenshot (146).png (106.2 KB, 11 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2020, 07:05 AM   #15
akky
Member
India

akky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 13
Also, when i checked the event logs in RsLinx, it shows that the connection is being refused by both EthernetIP and CSPv4. I have attached another Screen shot of the same.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot (147).png (52.7 KB, 76 views)
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Micrologix question Holly LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 20 October 12th, 2019 01:53 PM
Hi I want to use Flex I/O ethernet IP 1794 AENT with Micrologix 1400 psaundary LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 August 20th, 2015 07:45 AM
micrologix 1400 configuration with rslogix 500 sruthi LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 April 7th, 2014 07:50 PM
Drive ethernet lost communication (micrologix 1400/ panel view) jimbob187jim LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 July 31st, 2013 11:41 AM
MicroLogix 1400 Network seaston_65 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 15th, 2011 01:57 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:24 PM.


.