You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 25th, 2020, 10:27 AM   #1
hamm3r1
Member
United States

hamm3r1 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: indiana
Posts: 19
Connected components workbench

I know that CCW is not a widely used platform, but I like to use it for simple applications. Havent used it in over a year so I was showing a new guy how easy it was. Went to download program and got the error: CCW shell encountered a problem and needs to close. RA tech support is no help. Its supposedly caused by MS security update. Cannot find that update on my laptop to remove.Anyone else have this same experience. Thank you
  Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2020, 05:34 AM   #2
mikeexplorer
Member
United States

mikeexplorer is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Scranton,PA
Posts: 58
About a year ago, I downloaded it and installed it to "kick the tires" I was looking at upgrading the PLC I was using for my model train project and was looking at several options. I could not get this software to work at all. I installed it on two computers (one a Windows 7 laptop, the other a Windows 10 desktop) Neither worked, had endless errors and trying to uninstall it was a mess.

Seemed a shame, the Micro series would have worked well for the train project and not be terribly expensive.

Ultimately I chose to upgrade to a Micrologix 1400 and I bought a copy of RSlogix Micro, I had been using the free version with a Micrologix 1000 and found that program to be reliable.



Mike
  Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2020, 06:31 AM   #3
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 7,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by hamm3r1 View Post
I know that CCW is not a widely used platform
I think you would be surprised... I would say that is one of the fastest growing ones

For your error see here http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=119041

Are you using V12?
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more...OEM and aftermarket supplies... Aftermarket 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+, new USB to 485 modbus
  Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2020, 07:05 AM   #4
damica1
Member
United States

damica1 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Illinois
Posts: 801
CCW V12 requires Net framework 3.5 and windows 10 does NOT have that as a core.

You will have to download it first and install. Once that is finished you should have no trouble getting CCW installed and working.
__________________
David M. Camp

Unlocking the power of IOT in Oil & Gas!
  Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2020, 10:39 AM   #5
Drew Ethridge
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Drew Ethridge is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 10
I can't answer your exact question but wanted to mention two issues I had with CCW. First, I have NEVER been able to get the "Discover" function to work. Second, it seems to be very particular about when the PC is connected to USB/Ethernet and when the software is turned on. If I remember correctly I had to connect my VM to the device and then start the software. If I did it in the other order it never worked. Just happened to do it in the right sequence while I was on the phone with tech support...
  Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2020, 10:49 AM   #6
hamm3r1
Member
United States

hamm3r1 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: indiana
Posts: 19
Thanks for the replies. For some reason The framework 3.5 wont download so I'll have to get our IT guy to look into that. I've checked my security patches and I dont see any that have been mentioned. I'm working with CCW V 12 simulator and still get the shell error. This is frustrating.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2020, 11:50 AM   #7
Zimmer
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Zimmer is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hello
Posts: 70
I tried CCW a long time ago,and I only tried it on the lowly Micro 810s, which seemed to me to be similar to the Zelio or Logo smart relays, except it was a huge download and forever wanted to update or has some problem.
Then I had another go a short time ago and I was getting to like it and the software seemed much better, than I remembered. I was nearly converted, but had what seemed like a minor issue and even here nobody seemed to really know what the issue was.

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=123858

so the micro 810s went back in the miscellaneous section.

Last edited by Zimmer; June 26th, 2020 at 11:55 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2020, 01:08 PM   #8
Dravik
Member
United States

Dravik is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 1,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by hamm3r1 View Post
Thanks for the replies. For some reason The framework 3.5 wont download so I'll have to get our IT guy to look into that. I've checked my security patches and I dont see any that have been mentioned. I'm working with CCW V 12 simulator and still get the shell error. This is frustrating.
You'll need the Win10 install files, specifically the sources folder.

Code:
Dism /online /enable-feature /featurename:NetFX3 /All /Source:F:\sources\sxs /LimitAccess
Change F:\sources\sxs to where ever the files are.

Run from an admin cmd or powershell prompt.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2020, 10:42 AM   #9
hamm3r1
Member
United States

hamm3r1 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: indiana
Posts: 19
Gentlemen,thanks for the info. I did get V 12 to work finally. RA support article.
  1. Navigate to the extraction location of the Connected Components Workbench installation files: *\12.00.00-CCW-INT-Std-DVD
  2. Navigate to *\12.00.00-CCW-INT-Std-DVD\12.00.00-CCW\Setup\Trending
  3. Right click on TrendInstaller.msi and select Repair
  4. Reboot your PC

  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connected Components Workbench and Micro 810 questions Skidood LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 33 March 25th, 2019 11:00 AM
Connected Components Workbench PV800 firmware BinderNut LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 March 2nd, 2019 03:25 PM
Connected Components Workbench Question ref JSR instruction Robomah LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 March 2nd, 2018 06:10 PM
Connected Components Workbench MarkNightingale LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 19 October 3rd, 2016 10:02 PM
Tag address issues with connected components workbench. Grumbley3 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 August 12th, 2016 12:51 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:10 AM.


.