You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 28th, 2020, 07:08 PM   #1
Baker in Virginia
Member
United States

Baker in Virginia is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 294
Panelview Plus-What is the best way to get back into Config Mode ?

Good Evening ,


I have a Panelview Plus that I need to go back into Config Mode. I understand that if you have a USB keyboard you can press the Default button and go into a screen that will allow you to go into config mode . Is that safe and easy to do ?


At one time wasn't there a white box you could press on bootup ?


Thanks so much for your help.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2020, 07:23 PM   #2
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,100
Many versions have the white square at bootup. I'm not sure which version first introduced it. Then there was one minor revision (somewhere around v6, IIRC) where they removed it, and following an immediate uproar, reintroduced it in the next minor revision.

Next bet is a USB keyboard and Ctrl+Alt+Shift+Windows

There are other ways in as well, but 99% of the time, those two will get you by.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2020, 07:25 PM   #3
chavak
Member
Malaysia

chavak is offline
 
chavak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 664
I understand you can go to config mode using a USB keyboard.

But in my opinion, the best thing to do is put a 'Go to Config Mode' button in one of your screen, maybe with password protected.

But I guess now you have to upload the runtime file, add in the above button and download it back.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2020, 07:36 PM   #4
Baker in Virginia
Member
United States

Baker in Virginia is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 294
Nobody knows the password . Once I make some modifications to the application I will add a go to configure mode button .
  Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2020, 11:03 PM   #5
Mike Lamond
Member
United States

Mike Lamond is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 95
Can you connect to the PanelView with a VNC client? Use the "Send Ctrl-Alt-Del" button will cause the Windows CE OS to bring up the standard dialog box with the Restart Windows option. Win CE will restart to the desktop and when you start the PanelView Plus runtime it will go into config mode instead of running the application. At least, that's my experience with PV Plus 7 Performance.

Mike
  Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2020, 12:20 PM   #6
Jsu0234m
Supporting Member
United States

Jsu0234m is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Alabama
Posts: 90
The best way would be to put a go to configure screen button in your HMI program, either hidden behind something that would never be touched or locked behind a login screen.


If you forgot to do this and the little white square isn't there on reboots. Then you will need to either reset the panel view with the buttons on the back or plug a keyboard in and press Shift-Ctrl-Windows-Alt all at the same time until the end program screen pops up.



The keyboard method takes a few tries but it usually works.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beckhoff CX9000 Stuck in Config Mode avalancheroy33 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 June 22nd, 2015 07:56 PM
Panelview Plus 1000 config download NetNathan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 February 3rd, 2014 09:53 PM
How can i restart my panelview plus 600 in safe mode? rafaelrio LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 1st, 2009 06:51 AM
Panelview Plus 600 reading from SLC5/03 via NET-ENI story... Jawmunji LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 June 20th, 2007 12:30 PM
ControlLogix and PanelView RIO automfg LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 August 11th, 2006 03:30 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:18 PM.


.