You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 26th, 2017, 01:47 PM   #16
JohnJPhillips
Member
United States

JohnJPhillips is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Illinois
Posts: 23
I've used chrome remote desktop. If you have all the software you need on a PC in the plant this works smoothly and is free.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2017, 03:37 AM   #17
brendan.buchan
Member
Australia

brendan.buchan is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 415
Another vote for eee W0N Cosy 131. Set up 3 this year (all using 3G sim card) and set up is a breeze all up and running within 15 mins. Can also use hard-wired WAN connection if necessary and avoid sim card altogether if that is your preference.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2017, 01:11 PM   #18
Tinkerman
Member
United States

Tinkerman is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Washington State
Posts: 8
I have used the Cozy131 several times and it works very well. Highly recommended.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2017, 08:34 PM   #19
ScruffyNerfHurtr
Member
United States

ScruffyNerfHurtr is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: PA
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by brendan.buchan View Post
Another vote for eee W0N Cosy 131. Set up 3 this year (all using 3G sim card) and set up is a breeze all up and running within 15 mins. Can also use hard-wired WAN connection if necessary and avoid sim card altogether if that is your preference.
How's the connection? notice any really slow speeds or lag?
  Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2017, 02:43 AM   #20
brendan.buchan
Member
Australia

brendan.buchan is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 415
Connection and speeds are great even using SIM card, but at the end of the day it all depends on the cellular reception. I generally always use an external antenna mounted on-top of the panel.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2017, 04:06 PM   #21
ScruffyNerfHurtr
Member
United States

ScruffyNerfHurtr is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: PA
Posts: 43
I have decided to go with the Cosy. Thank you all for your input. Now to start reading the user manual while I wait on delivery. One thing I don't understand about VPN's. when I connect to the vpn router, do I connect to the internet IP address of it on the plants network. or do I connect to it with the LAN IP address I give it that will match the PLC and Panelview that is connected to it. I guess I'm just confused on how when I programmed the panelview and plc I had to change the IP address of my laptop. but if i'm connecting through internet I won't be able to do that.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2017, 05:58 PM   #22
brendan.buchan
Member
Australia

brendan.buchan is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 415
Basically you use a VPN client utility which connects you to a cloud server, then the cloud server connects you to the Cosy providing a VPN tunnel.

The Cosy then handles the routing / NAT to get you through to the LAN / PLC network. In the Cosy setup you must specify what the LAN / PLC network is.

Note that for AB products when connecting via VPN or from a different network you must use the Ethernet driver in RSLinx and add the PLC / HMI IP addresses manually, not the Ethernet/IP driver which can automatically browse for all devices on the local network.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2017, 05:23 AM   #23
godcixelsyd
Member
United States

godcixelsyd is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Georgia
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by brendan.buchan View Post
Note that for AB products when connecting via VPN or from a different network you must use the Ethernet driver in RSLinx and add the PLC / HMI IP addresses manually, not the Ethernet/IP driver which can automatically browse for all devices on the local network.
Huh... I never realized that... Thinking back on it I never TRIED to do so, but it makes sense. The only time I can think of that it might work would be if you were using something like openVPN which adds a virtual network adapter in your hardware that would be in the subnet of your remote network. I'll have to experiment with this.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2017, 06:02 AM   #24
brendan.buchan
Member
Australia

brendan.buchan is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by godcixelsyd View Post
Huh... I never realized that... Thinking back on it I never TRIED to do so, but it makes sense. The only time I can think of that it might work would be if you were using something like openVPN which adds a virtual network adapter in your hardware that would be in the subnet of your remote network. I'll have to experiment with this.
The scenario you mentioned would most likely work, although you would need to modify the Ethernet/IP driver settings to browse using this virtual network adapter instead of your local physical adapter. The RSLinx Ethernet/IP driver uses broadcasts to find devices so your network adapter must be on the same network as end devices.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2017, 07:42 AM   #25
godcixelsyd
Member
United States

godcixelsyd is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Georgia
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by brendan.buchan View Post
The scenario you mentioned would most likely work, although you would need to modify the Ethernet/IP driver settings to browse using this virtual network adapter instead of your local physical adapter. The RSLinx Ethernet/IP driver uses broadcasts to find devices so your network adapter must be on the same network as end devices.
Ok, thanks! I've always just kinda "done it" and never really understood how it worked.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2018, 06:03 PM   #26
Tinkerman
Member
United States

Tinkerman is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Washington State
Posts: 8
Hey Scruffy,

Did you get the Cozy and how did it go?

We are using a couple and sending them all over with good results. Only tricky part is understanding each sites network structure so we can set up the device to work with it.

Tinkerman
  Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2018, 01:27 AM   #27
janner_10
Supporting Member
United Kingdom

janner_10 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Tewkesbury
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tinkerman View Post
Hey Scruffy,

Did you get the Cozy and how did it go?

We are using a couple and sending them all over with good results. Only tricky part is understanding each sites network structure so we can set up the device to work with it.

Tinkerman
We set ours to DHCP, never had a problem with a customers network yet.

Alternatively, if they give you a fixed IP address, use that.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2018, 12:08 AM   #28
Tinkerman
Member
United States

Tinkerman is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Washington State
Posts: 8
Setting up the eee Won is easy. It's finding the right person with the network details you need that can be tricky.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2018, 12:15 PM   #29
_Dock_
Member
United States

_Dock_ is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: KY
Posts: 37
I have experience with the cosy 131, it works, it is a little bit of a bear to set up. My biggest complaint is if you use the wireless version and the plant changes the network settings it is now a paperweight unless you go out and update it.

I would also caution that the VPN is only as good as the network connection. If you have a poor speed and large files I would forget doing remote transfers, you will be limited to online editing.

I switched to the stride offered by AD this year and it is miles above the cosy. I have three units in the field and I can set one up in about 10 minutes now, most of that time is hooking up the hardware. The stride is much easier to setup and it holds the network configuration on a usb dongle. If some IT guy changes the network for the wireless I can update the config file and send it to a person on site to transfer to the USB stick, cycle power and im back. I dont think this is possible with the cosy wifi version, at least it wasnt several years ago.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2018, 12:19 PM   #30
_Dock_
Member
United States

_Dock_ is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: KY
Posts: 37
I also add that these types of VPN's do not care what it is hooked to, its simply a path to the devices. It could be anything, PC, PLC, HMI, fieldbus, etc. We use 16 port switches on the machines we build, i plug the VPN into the switch and I now have access to anything that is plugged into the switch network.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PLC Remote Access Giz99 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 29 July 5th, 2016 02:46 AM
Remote access devices ASF LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 January 18th, 2015 03:09 AM
VMWare Player Compact Logix snordvikqplas LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 February 26th, 2014 04:12 PM
Compact Logix Comms Problem mrdmrd LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 March 3rd, 2008 01:21 PM
Producer Consumer Messging between Control Logix & Compact Logix plcnovel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 July 24th, 2006 10:04 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 AM.


.