You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 22nd, 2012, 12:40 AM   #1
Coulombboy
Member
Philippines

Coulombboy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Makati City
Posts: 70
Problem with RSLinx Factory Talk Activation

Hello Everyone,

We have used AB ML1400 for a small project to control weighfeeders of a cement plant. The PLC controls flowrate of 4 weighfeeders in Tons per Hour, and is connected to a PC installed with RSlinx Classic OEM so OPC function is available. The OPC client sends the % setpoint of each weighfeeder to the PLC.

Initially when we have installed RSLinx, we are having problem with the system making the OPC client restart again and again, and the PC is hanging up. And then our client told us to remove/uninstall the factory talk activation manager as it is colliding with their software. As requested, we have uninstalled the factory talk activation, and the communication between their software and PLC has been made possible. But few days after, the activation of the RSLinx is only in lite due to the absence of Factory Talk. I have already explained to our client that later version of RSLinx only supports factory talk activation.

Is there any solution that we can activate RSLinx Classic OEM without having factory talk activation?

I am aware with EVMOVE, but since later versions only support FT Activation, i will set aside this as an option. Unless otherwise there is a way we can use new licenses and use old RSLinx installer and EVmove.

Thanks for your help in advance everyone..

__________________
From nothing to something..

  Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2012, 01:51 AM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 13,899
Whomever this third party software company is, they're not going to get very far if their software can't co-exist with FactoryTalk Activation.

For a small system like this, I would install a non-RA OPC Server, like Software Toolbox, Matrikon, or Kepware.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2012, 03:29 AM   #3
Coulombboy
Member
Philippines

Coulombboy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Makati City
Posts: 70
Yeah I have tried that suggestion, yet they can't still accept the fact that thesystem is not working. By the way, the software is called QMC (quality mix control), of which the developer is I don't know.
__________________
From nothing to something..

  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Factory talk veiw studio problem kbn_120184 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 September 2nd, 2012 01:39 AM
Factory Talk Removal Problem ceilingwalker LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 December 30th, 2010 06:25 PM
factory talk activation for RsLogix 5000 pssriram16 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 June 5th, 2009 07:15 AM
Factory Talk Studio 5.00 gosenbach LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 March 17th, 2009 08:30 AM
Please help RS logix 500 Activation Key Problem labingtone LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 November 26th, 2002 08:27 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 PM.


.