PowerFlex 400 PID Loop for DryCooler Fan / Temperature / Modbus

alexhk

Hello

I am a newbie so apologies in advance if I am not making sense or miss important information. I am trying to setup a PID Loop on a PowerFlex 400 to control the fan speed of a Dry Cooler to stay at 40°C. The system is up 24/7, unfortunatley I can't just play around myself at this moment and I need to schedule down time after I understand more. Here are my questions:

(1) Does that sounds like something I can use the PowerFlex internal PID Loop?

I am just starting to understand PID but I am not sure if there are many different implementations and if there are known good and bad ones.

(2) I believe the most common way of using the PID loop is by using the two analog inputs, but at this moment I don't have temperature and setpoint available via analog signal. So I am trying to see if I could still use the RS485/Comm Port for now.

- Both, A152 [PID Ref Sel] and A153 [PID Feedback Sel] can be set to Comm Port. What I don't understand with this variation is how I could write both of these values. I believe I would write the PID Feedback (ie. current temperature?) to P038 [Speed Reference], but I am not clear in what format (certainly not Hertz?) and how/where would I write the PID Setpoint?

- Or I could set A152 [PID Ref Sel] to PID Setpoint so I would use A157 [PID Setpoint] to write the setpoint manually on the PowerFlex via keypad. Then I would still use P038 to write the PID Feedback (current temperature). But what format, and does that sound correct?

- If all of this fails/results in no feedback here on the forum, I would go the analog input route. That means I would wire a temp sensor to a 4mA-20mA input, and the same for the set point. Does that sound correct?

Again, thanks for your pointers in advance and enjoy your holidays!

Further info in case that was not enough: