Advanced HMI

pr_wainwright

Hi,
I am new to Allen Bradley & have found Advanced HMI on the internet. The quick start example uses 'non tag' memory addressing e.g. N7:0 In my PLC I have arrays etc that I would like to use with Advanced HMI to read/write values. How do I address an array like ALARMS_TODAY [INT128]

e.g. ALARMS_TODAY[0] ???

Thanks
Paul.

pr- today was the first that I have looked at this software and just briefly at a couple of the quick start videos. If you do not find that tag based addressing has been added yet, you can make the RSLogix5000 software behave like the non-tag memory format that the videos show:

Simply go to the Logic Tab> Click Map PLC/SLC Messages> Then enter File Number and Tag Name in the PLC 3,5/ SLC Mapping Box. Click on the Help if you have trouble with the formatting.

In order to use the ControlLogix/CompactLogix (Tag based), the first thing is to add the EthernetIPforCLX driver to the form.

From there, add the visual controls and use the tags names as you would in your PLC program:

PLCAddressValue property would be set to ALARMS_TODAY[0]

Archie- that's very good info to know. In your opinion, what is the best low cost Touch Panel PC to run Advanced HMI that would also be rugged enough to withstand a manufacturing environment?

Thanks.

fwiw, I like Hope Industrial's various NEMA rated industrial touch screen displays. They require separate computers to drive them. I like using Wyse thin clients. Solid state drives really help in rough environments. Industrial Image also makes nice units with or without PCs.

In your opinion, what is the best low cost Touch Panel PC to run Advanced HMI that would also be rugged enough to withstand a manufacturing environment?