AD stage programming

Rod

I'm just starting to learn AD stage programming. (newbbie-ish) Fanuc ladder programming mainly.

While I see MAJOR advantages with using stage, I find the examples in the user manual to be 'faulty'.

Chapter 7, page 4 (toggle switch) has the button trigger on the 'release'. I'm sorry, but when I press the button, I expect the action to occur THEN, not upon release. (on mouse-button-down in VB)

Take JOG for instance - press button and hold down until in-position. Not press then release for action to begin! Non intuitive. Press the power-on button on a Fanuc control for instance.

I'm gonna order a DL06 (my 3rd) to play with - the first two are helping Austin,TX have cleaner water.

PS: I just lost a contract because of my ignorance about 'SPECIAL RELAYS'. I shall rectify THAT also!!

PPS: I'll rewrite the toggle function in stage and post that for the 'student' question - that will spin their disks :)

You guys are SO helpful - I shall repay if I can.

Rod (The CNC dude)

I'm glad to see you're learning it- I don't even know what it is yet! Or maybe I do, but don't recognize the term "Stage programming"

'Stage Programming' is AD's version of a 'step transition' style of programming laid on top of standard ladder logic. I find it incredibly useful as it helps to lay out a sequence based program in a truly logical order. You can access their manual for any of their families - though the 06 seems to be growing in huge popularity - at ther web site. It has a section, which I find to be an adequate introduction, to the Stage Programming. Though your imagination could take you much farther.

Here is a guide to Stage Programming, that tries to go a bit farther than the manual. It is geared more toward beginners and tries to make distinctions on when Stage should be used and when it should not. (Sorry Bernie and testsubject, I know you just love it, but there are times that it should not be used.)

icky812 said: