Importing a routine

lmoser

I am new to logix 5000 I am trying to import a routine into my program and when I try to import the routine logix 5000 freezes and i then have to kill the program via the task manager.

I have tried importing and exporting a number of different routines. I have tired exporting from an existing project into a new project. I have tried exporting a new routine to an existing project. and I have tired exporting and then importing the same routine back into the same project and each time logix 5000 freezes and locks up

When I choose to import logix 5000 prompts me to select a file and as soon as I click OK the program appears to load the routine(at least two progress bars run through cant tell what they say though) freezes up and i have to restart.

Does anyone have any ideas as to what is going on or how i can fix this?

Please and thank you.

I had a similar problem once when trying to import into a program that I mistakenly opened from a network drive. It didn't freeze, but it would take upwards of 10 minutes to open the import routine dialog box.

You also may have a problem with any one of the host of obscure background services running in the FactoryTalk/Logix/Linx family. Does the problem persist after a reboot?
You might check your processes in Task Manager to see which one is stuck and using all your PC resources when it freezes.

I experience the same problem with no resolve. As Okie pointed out, the copy-paste works between two open projects. Make sure you copy-paste new UDTs, then new AOIs, before copying new programs or tasks. I haven't run into any problems following that sequence.

Potential workaround:
Is there a difference between import/export and drag and drop between two instances of RSLogix5000?