You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread February 28th, 2015, 05:37 AM   #1
rQx
Member
Sweden

rQx is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Trelleborg
Posts: 726
Barcode scanner and production display

Hi!

I have a customer that is starting to talk about two things for the future. He has only mentioned them but I want a head start before he starts to ask questions.

The scenario is that we have several production lines that I'm in the making of commisioning a statistics system based on s7-1200 and WinCC Flexible 2008 RT with archives.

1. The lines produce products with barcodes. He's talking about having a barcode scanner that will tell my system (s7-1200) what product they are currently producing on that line. So I guess I need a barcode scanner, but can anyone point me out to the right direction on what to look after. I have seen barcode scanners that remember a barcode and make a output signal when it reads it again. But here we are talking about connection an individual barcode to a product and name in my s7-1200. Anyone have knowledge on what barcode scanner to look for? I guess it's not just a regular one but a more advanced and it would be connected through a network (modbus tcp or rtu?).

2. He wan't product displays to display the lines PPM. Ofcpurse it should be cheep (as always), but it would be good if it is connected through modbus tcp (or similar) since I have switches on every line but only a few wires to connect for signals to/from the s7-1200. Anyone know a good brand or where to start looking.

Thanks for suggestions

/Tim
  Reply With Quote
Unread February 28th, 2015, 07:01 AM   #2
realolman
Member
United States

realolman is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: here
Posts: 584
We use these, and they seem pretty good... if you go to the website you will see that they make all kinds of stuff

http://www.microscan.com/en-us/Produ...e-Scanner.aspx
  Reply With Quote
Unread February 28th, 2015, 08:47 AM   #3
rQx
Member
Sweden

rQx is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Trelleborg
Posts: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by realolman View Post
We use these, and they seem pretty good... if you go to the website you will see that they make all kinds of stuff

http://www.microscan.com/en-us/Produ...e-Scanner.aspx
Thanks, I read up on them and maybe ask some questions about them
  Reply With Quote
Unread February 28th, 2015, 02:06 PM   #4
realolman
Member
United States

realolman is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: here
Posts: 584
And another thing ... the software is free and it's easy and quite comprehensive
  Reply With Quote
Unread March 1st, 2015, 04:50 AM   #5
beethoven_ii
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

beethoven_ii is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: England
Posts: 344
You should consider using Sick bar code scanners. The set up software is free, very comprehensive with many possible functions. I have installed several communicating with S7-300 plc's over Ethernet. Technical support is free and they are very helpful. Have a look here http://www.sick.com/group/en/home/pr..._series_6.aspx
  Reply With Quote
Unread March 1st, 2015, 05:28 AM   #6
rQx
Member
Sweden

rQx is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Trelleborg
Posts: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by beethoven_ii View Post
You should consider using Sick bar code scanners. The set up software is free, very comprehensive with many possible functions. I have installed several communicating with S7-300 plc's over Ethernet. Technical support is free and they are very helpful. Have a look here http://www.sick.com/group/en/home/pr..._series_6.aspx
Intresting, I stumbled upon them yesterday searching for barcode scanners aswell.

How easy are they to setup in the PLC? I will use a s7-1200, I guess they are compatible to? I've never used this kind of communication before (ethernet) with s7-1200, only with siemens VFD. I read that I can dowload gsd files for it but the operations manual doesn't say how it is implemented in a PLC, only that it operates on Profinet. Is it tricky to setup in the PLC?

Since I've never worked with these kind of devices I can only guess that the only thing I need is to get a signal(variable) from the barcode reader that is used to identify the barcode? This I can store in variables in my memory of the PLC to compare to what I read the next time?

I guess that the wring and installation is pretty straight forward and the PLC programming will be the tricky part (for me).

/Tim
  Reply With Quote
Unread March 1st, 2015, 06:03 AM   #7
beethoven_ii
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

beethoven_ii is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: England
Posts: 344
All the blocks & DB's you need in the plc are freely available from Sick and I found the documentation pretty easy to understand. I had to configure some logic in my plc to trigger mine, although you can attach a trigger sensor direct to the scanner controller. How much other code you need depends on what you want to do with it and whether you're displaying the codes on a screen or logging them. I've never set them up on an S7-1200 cpu but Sick are a world leading company in this area and the support they provide here in the UK is excellent from my experience.
  Reply With Quote
Unread March 1st, 2015, 08:20 AM   #8
rQx
Member
Sweden

rQx is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Trelleborg
Posts: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by beethoven_ii View Post
All the blocks & DB's you need in the plc are freely available from Sick and I found the documentation pretty easy to understand. I had to configure some logic in my plc to trigger mine, although you can attach a trigger sensor direct to the scanner controller. How much other code you need depends on what you want to do with it and whether you're displaying the codes on a screen or logging them. I've never set them up on an S7-1200 cpu but Sick are a world leading company in this area and the support they provide here in the UK is excellent from my experience.
Sounds like a very good and flexible sensor. How mush is the cost(approximate)? No need for an exact number, just curious as reference.
  Reply With Quote
Unread March 1st, 2015, 04:14 PM   #9
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,041
I've used Sick over Ethernet/IP on an AB PLC and found it very user friendly - I came onto the first one with no barcode scanner experience and with just a couple of pointers from the site engineer and a read through the manuals I had it up and running very quickly. Not used one on a Siemens PLC but if their documentation is as good across both platforms I don't think you can go too far wrong
  Reply With Quote
Unread March 2nd, 2015, 01:14 AM   #10
rQx
Member
Sweden

rQx is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Trelleborg
Posts: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASF View Post
I've used Sick over Ethernet/IP on an AB PLC and found it very user friendly - I came onto the first one with no barcode scanner experience and with just a couple of pointers from the site engineer and a read through the manuals I had it up and running very quickly. Not used one on a Siemens PLC but if their documentation is as good across both platforms I don't think you can go too far wrong
I've found the instruction to the s7-300 and it seems pretty straight forward. I have no knowledge about the s7-300 but the way they explain it in the manual is very userfriendly. Good to hear alot of people with positive experience of this, very usefull information!
  Reply With Quote
Unread April 9th, 2015, 10:30 PM   #11
longwest
Member
United States

longwest is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3
I've tried some free bar codes scanner resources, some problems are exist with them, but most good bar code scanner on websites need payment, but some have free trial, I've tried this bar code scanner library, I think it's good, but you can check it whether it meet your needs.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using a USB bar code scanner with a PTV TheBrownGhost LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 July 17th, 2012 07:51 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 PM.


.