OT: Residential Well Water Treatment

OkiePC

Lifetime Supporting Member
My water quality here has been poor for four years and that must begin to change today. I have very hard iron rich water and it is staining everything. It tastes good, but the sand. How do I stop the sand. I keep a pair of pipe pliers laying on my washing machine because the cold line carries enough enough dirt to slow to a trickle every three loads! My well is about 85' from the house and the pipe enters under the slab at an angle. I pulled the old pump and put in a nice one right after I moved in. It is about 85' deep, and the water table is only 20' down here. I did shorten the depth 5 feet during the upgrade, and installed a torque control "thingy" that expaneds inside the casing to absorb pump start up torque, but I think it still stirs sand every start.

I plan to splice in two sweep elbows, and install a bypass valve and stub today so I can put in a filter/softener later, but I've no experience with them. I am a above average plumber if I take my time, but this has to happen today, and during the week, I can wall-in the front porch, and put some good controls on my water supply.

I think there's a regulator or check valve in the joint now I'll post a pic, but flow is good until it hits the screens in the faucets. I drink from a Watts 1 gal rev. osmosis system and it needs new filters now too.

And I eventually would love to have a way to chlorinate or otherwise sanitize my water.

I don't have a huge budget for this, and I have a really good pressure tank, 5HP pump pushing up to 5GPM at 60PSI.

Are there softeners that self adjust? Can they tolerate iron and sand? Is there a way to pre-filter sand without disposable paper ones every few days in my case?

I want high functioning low maintenance soft water when I am done. Brand recommendations and choice of systems advice needed please.

Paul

Water supply line to Cogar House.jpg

Last edited:
Okie