You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 22nd, 2021, 05:24 PM   #1
JeremyM
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

JeremyM is offline
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 495
FTView ME and Global Parameters

Hi all,

I'm curious about using the Parameter Tags #1-10 under the Global Connections setup.

- is the expected tag type a STRING?
- if so, would I be able to create a PLC UDT with these 10 strings and dynamically update them in code as HMI navigation into nested equipment modules takes place?

(to reduce the screen counts/setup by 'dynamic' parameter list passing)?

a simple UDT on the PLC might be:
ParameterTag1: STRING (could be the Program/Unit name itself)
ParameterTag2: STRING (could be the selected equipment module)
ParameterTag3: STRING (could be a nested equipment module)
ParameterTag4: STRING (and so on...)
ParameterTag5: STRING
ParameterTag6: STRING
ParameterTag7: STRING
ParameterTag8: STRING
ParameterTag9: STRING
ParameterTag10: STRING

I should be home soon enough to test, just seeing if anyone else has tried this.

Last edited by JeremyM; January 22nd, 2021 at 06:13 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2021, 12:29 AM   #2
JeremyM
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

JeremyM is offline
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 495
thinking I can better phrase this:

is it possible to use a PLC string value as the literal parameter substitution when navigating?
  Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2021, 05:15 PM   #3
JeremyM
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

JeremyM is offline
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 495
I maintain a ticket with Rockwell on this one since they weren't too sure during the call.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2021, 04:54 PM   #4
ASF
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

ASF is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,246
I haven't tried it, and personally I doubt it will work. But I'm always up for learning something new, so do post back when you get home and try it out!
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 PM.


.