You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 13th, 2021, 12:24 PM   #1
rscrivner
Member
United States

rscrivner is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 7
PLC/HMI that can have a program using RTC

Hello everyone and thank you for your assistance before hand.

I have a request from a customer that wants to run a conveyor for only 15 to 30 seconds twice a day. No big deal easy enough. The problem is that this customer wants the conveyor to run only at 5 AM for 15 to 30 seconds and then be off until it is turned on again at 7 PM for 15 to 30 seconds. This is an every day routine. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2021, 12:27 PM   #2
harryting
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

harryting is offline
 
harryting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Puget Sound
Posts: 2,296
As a starting point, what controller and other hardware does the customer have right now? What's the budget?
  Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2021, 12:30 PM   #3
rscrivner
Member
United States

rscrivner is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 7
Only hardware for sure is a Minarik DC drive. Budget is a low as possible. I have been looking at a Maple HMI/PLC unit to see if it could provide this function but have not found that information yet.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2021, 12:36 PM   #4
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 10,858
Click PLC with Ethernet has a RTC. If you need an HMI to go with it, my preference is Red Lion but for cheaper there are C-Mores that work well with a Click.
https://www.automationdirect.com/adc...its/c0-10dre-d
That one has Ethernet and relay outputs. You can save a few dollars by going with the Standard instead of Ethernet version and if you want an interposing relay, you can get one with transistor outputs in either family. In my opinion, always go with the Ethernet models.
__________________
You can choose a ready guide in some celestial voice. If you choose not to decide you still have made a choice.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2021, 12:42 PM   #5
Liam Moran
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Liam Moran is offline
 
Liam Moran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Carlow
Posts: 367
Why not use something simple like a Siemens Logo or similar? They are inexpensive and simple.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2021, 12:52 PM   #6
rscrivner
Member
United States

rscrivner is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 7
Liam

My company mainly uses Rockwell for PLCS and HMI. We have used Maple systems before as well though.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2021, 12:58 PM   #7
Liam Moran
Lifetime Supporting Member
Ireland

Liam Moran is offline
 
Liam Moran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Carlow
Posts: 367
Rockwell have a similar product to the Logo called Micro 800. I have never used one, but I am sure it would have similar functionality.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2021, 01:00 PM   #8
rscrivner
Member
United States

rscrivner is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 7
Thank you Liam. I am looking into the Rockwell as well as the Maple systems. Just trying to see which one is cost effective and will still allow me to use the RTC as part of the ladder logic for the program.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2021, 01:03 PM   #9
L D[AR2,P#0.0]
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

L D[AR2,P#0.0] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,192
Central heating controller/one of these?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg timer.jpg (129.1 KB, 54 views)
__________________
S7-300 to 1500 conversions done - email to s7conversions@hotmail.com

Last edited by L D[AR2,P#0.0]; January 13th, 2021 at 01:08 PM. Reason: additon
  Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2021, 01:05 PM   #10
rupej
Member
United States

rupej is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 841
If it's Rockwell, a MicroLogix 1100/1400 would work as well if you're more familiar with those.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2021, 01:50 PM   #11
drbitboy
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

drbitboy is offline
 
drbitboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 2,297
To what accuracy is the turn-on event 5am and 7pm expected? 10minutes? 100ms? Is drift acceptable i.e. 05:00:00 one day and 05:00:01 a week later?



What determines how long the conveyor runs? is it the same every day? does someone turn it off manually?


Should the conveyor run on weekends?


What is the environment (indoors? outdoors? panel enclosure)?



We have battery-powered "candles," probably from Walmar, that we put in the windows every year around 01.December. when you screw in the bulb at 4pm, they light stay lit for 5-6h; with no more intervention they repeat that every day at the same time until we unscrew the bulb.


Even a minimal PLC is more than this project requires; but the greater bulk of the cost is going to be labor for the wiring and programming. So anything that has a clock could potentially work; this could be done in a spare laptop with a printer port and GWBasic.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2021, 04:10 PM   #12
Lare
Member
Finland

Lare is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,559
Timer relay as LD writed would be most cost effective.
It only needs AC-supply and wiring from relay out to VFD start input.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2021, 04:14 PM   #13
rscrivner
Member
United States

rscrivner is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 7
Thank you all for the valuable inputs. I have narrowed down my choices and will submit it to my customer for their approval.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2021, 04:20 PM   #14
Ken Moore
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ken Moore is offline
 
Ken Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North, West, South Carolina
Posts: 2,991
Sounds like a poop collection system at a Diary Farm.
Clear the contents after each milking cycle.

Almost any smart relay should work. I use these for
home projects. https://www.factorymation.com/SG2_PL...feature_PLR_SB
__________________
Certified Siemens Functional Safety Professional,
ID: SFSP17010238
https://azr.com/

Last edited by Ken Moore; January 13th, 2021 at 04:26 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Studio 5000 Program Parameter Connections theColonel26 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 October 25th, 2019 09:55 AM
How to switch drivers lbeh LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 December 11th, 2014 03:11 PM
Mitsubishi A series program memory ukjimoo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 May 28th, 2011 04:34 PM
Need Help with 1746-BAS error bfore LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 May 19th, 2011 04:24 PM
Mitsubishi Q02 Program Memory tgoulding LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 19th, 2006 12:49 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 PM.


.