Rslogix 5000 Shift register, move 4 bits at a time

sorenlyder

Hey.

I need some input on how to solve this task i am struggeling with.

In the picture I attatched to this post, i tried to display what my task is about.

I need to every time I get a pulse, move 4 bits 4 positions in an shift register.
I havent been able to make it work in rslogix 5000 with the LSB or RSB instruction, but this is also the first time i have tried to use thoose instructions.

I would say I have some experience in Rslogix 5000, so I am no rookie, I just never worked with this kind of assignment before.

In total i need 3 shift registeres, and the one that is displayed in the picture, are Nr. 2 of them, but i think that if I could just get some help to this one, then I would be on my way to solve thoose other two afterwards.

Please give me your inputs on what U think.

Thanks in advance.

shift register.jpg

You can use a dint array as the the array parameter of the instruction. This allows you to make a VERY long shift register if you so desire.

I think to get around the loading 4 bits requirement you could have 4 BSL instructions on the one rung executing one after the after. This will mean that if you executed the rung on a one shot for example you would load in the first bit then shift left, then load in the second bit then shift left etc until all 4 bits are done. When the rung has completed you would have loaded in all 4 bits and shifted the register 4 places to the left.

Hello HJTRBO

I was thinking the same thing.
I just have trouble setting it up in RSLogix 5000.
The BSL seems to me a little different than in the logix 500.

I have seen a number of walk though´s on youtube, but all in the logix 500 program.
I need to convert it to logix 5000 somehow.

I don't have the software with me but try this to get you started.
Steps:

1)Create tags
MyBSLSourceBit BOOL[3] (This is an array of bools. Just for now only the first one is used for my first BSL instruction)