You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 21st, 2014, 10:36 AM   #1
Rob S.
Member
United States

Rob S. is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 721
Dog Is RS Linx still on and loaded with the RS Logix 5000 CD ?

I just purchased RS Logix 5000 , and loaded it on a laptop.
During loading it, I did not take notice if RS Linx was ever loaded. I thought RS Linx was always loaded if it was not on the machine it was loading. This CD for RS Logix 5000 was version 20.01 . I did receive Rockwell Studio 5000 which has version 21.03 on it , but it seems like the cd is bad , because I cannot read it on my cd drive , but the RS Logix 5000 cd loads fine. I am getting ready to call Rockwell , but I wanted to gather my facts first. Any thoughts on this issue.

Thanks in advance.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2014, 10:58 AM   #2
dmroeder
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmroeder is offline
 
dmroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,662
My experience is that Linx still comes on the CD. It may be that it was optional and the box wasn't checked (although it typically seems to load it by default).

Browse the disk and search for it. If it is a factory disk, I'm thinking that it's there somewhere.

And you better be sure you want that 21.03 installed. I'd do your homework on the ".03" versions before installing (20.03 and 21.03). They are not the same as, and not compatible with the typical V20 and V21 programs/firmware.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2014, 11:22 AM   #3
Rob S.
Member
United States

Rob S. is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 721
Thanks . but I don't see RS Linx on that disk at all. I will call Rockwell. I never ran into this before with Rockwell software.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2014, 11:29 AM   #4
Operaghost
Member
United States

Operaghost is offline
 
Operaghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Posts: 3,044
It's usually in a folder named "Redist".

OG
  Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2014, 12:09 PM   #5
TWS
Member
United States

TWS is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: virginia
Posts: 254
I had issues installing Studio 5000 V21. I installed V23 without issues. RS Linx was part of the download.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2014, 04:24 PM   #6
Rob S.
Member
United States

Rob S. is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 721
It was because I had Window's 7. I was able to get the Studio 5000 to work and was able to load RS Linx. Thanks for your help.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 AM.


.