You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 28th, 2014, 09:59 AM   #1
Elcan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Elcan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 909
RSLogix 5000 and Powerflex 525.

Hi all,
I'm trying to control several PowerFlex 525 with a CompactLogix 1769-L33ER via Ethernet.
I used the EDS Wizard to install the corresponding EDS files and the registration seems to be successful (the PowerFlex 525 devices appear available to unregister, for example).

However, when I try to add a PF 525 by right clicking at I/O Configuration -> Ethernet and selecting "New Module", the PowerFlex 525 devices are not available in the device list. The PowerFlex 40, 70 and 700 are available, though.

What I am missing?

Thank you in advance!
  Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2014, 10:10 AM   #2
jseavers
Member
United States

jseavers is offline
 
jseavers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Central WI
Posts: 112
Just going from Memory but i think you need the Powerflex 525 AOP
  Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2014, 10:14 AM   #3
jraef
Member
United States

jraef is offline
 
jraef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,116
If you have an older version of 5000, it may predate the addition of the 520 series, so yes, you will need to add the AOP (Add On Profile), or maybe it's time to update your 5000. There may be other issues.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2014, 10:20 AM   #4
Andybr
Member
United Kingdom

Andybr is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 588
You need the Add on Profile which you can download from the Rockwell site but be very careful. The current version of the AOP installation software uses the "new" database method for handling EDS files so once you have used it any software you have which relies on the old registry system will no longer work. This mainly affects RSNetworx packages but there are some others. Unlike L5K V21 and above which inform you about this the AOP installer just does it and leaves you an unpleasant surprise.
__________________
“What are the facts? Again and again and again-what are the facts? Shun wishful thinking, ignore divine revelation, forget what “the stars foretell,” avoid opinion, care not what the neighbors think, never mind the unguessable “verdict of history”–what are the facts, and to how many decimal places? You pilot always into an unknown future; facts are your single clue. Get the facts!”

Robert Heinlein.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2014, 11:38 AM   #5
Elcan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Elcan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 909
I added the (correct) AOP and it worked!
I had added the incorrect AOP by mistake.

Thank you!
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powerflex 753 with I/O Module & RSLogix 5000 Matt1234 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 March 23rd, 2016 08:35 AM
Powerflex 525 Multidrive issues Teglaco LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 14th, 2014 12:57 PM
Powerflex 40 on Rslogix 5000 MattEveritt6 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 March 28th, 2014 05:10 AM
help with Rslogix 5000 and powerflex 40 stu LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 March 5th, 2013 08:55 AM
RSLogix 5000 Fatal error when adding a Powerflex 70 Enet steveb1475 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 January 27th, 2011 06:15 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:29 PM.


.