4-20mA TO propotional valve control

tsaks89

Hello all!

I am new here. I think this site is like a treasure for me...

Now to my issue. I am using Wago plc and i am working on codesys but i am a newbie. I have a project in which my input is a joystick 4-12-20 ma. I would like to control 2 solenoids with range 400-1200ma. One solenoid in on when i have 4-11 ma (4->1200 and 11->400) and the other when i have 13-20 ma (13->400 and 20->1200). My I/Os are 750-455 and 750-632. I tried many way through manual and i can't control my output. I tried also with lin_trafo but nothing. I am doing something wrong.

Is there any STL or FBD example available?

Thank you in advance!

Hello and welcome,

I have never used a 632 but there is a lot of information on Youtube,

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CR4ZFUt1exs

It would also help if you posted your logic if you can then maybe someone could help in more detail

Thank you for your reply!
My issue is that i can't make those two to cooperate.I don't know how. In this video is more simple because inputs are controlled through codesys program.

Do you want the valve to follow the position of the joystick?

That is almost impossible if you do not have a feedback on the position of the valve.

Many proportional valves can be equipped with an additional module that transmits the position of the valve for example using 4-20 mA, then you would only have to compare the two analog inputs and open or close until they equalize, with a small tolerance to avoid oscillations.

It looks like a falling output to solenoid 1 from 4 to 11 ma input and a rising output to solenoid 2 from 13 to 20 ma input. What do you want to output to solenoid 1 above 11 ma input and similarly what is output to solenoid 2 below 13 ma input?I

You will end up with two scaling type functions within the two control ranges with probably a fixed output outside of the ranges.

I don't use Codesys so I can't give examples.

I believe this is what you want to do....