How do you talk to your legacy equipment???

esp400

Our dept has an old 32bit Dell Latitude D810 which has seen better days. I'm sure a lot of companies have the same setup in which there is legacy equipment that has not been upgraded and as such, you use the old 32bit laptop running Windows XP to do the work.

So has anyone explored connecting to 32bit software platforms such as early Rockwell Factory Talk or a communication network like DH+ where you'd use a PCMIA card slot with 64bit computers running a 32bit Virtual Machine? What is typical here?

Honestly, I have no experience with VM's. We had a machine manufacturer's programmer in house not long ago and he casually mentioned using VM's to run different software platforms so that he could connect to all the different equipment. We had an interesting conversation where he explained that if you use the wrong VM to connect to an PV+, the font does weird stuff like gets smaller or larger (which happened to us).

How does everyone accomplish connecting to the 32bit stuff? Is there a more modern way of accomplishing this?

Thx for your input!

I reckon you need to get that accursed PCMCIA DH+ card and cleanse it with fire. I know it cost more than a **** car but its a bloody miracle to get them working even on the original hardware. You can get a usb version now that will work well on anything including virtual hardware.

Try and run the vmware standalone converter on the old box. It will build a VM of the machine that you can test out without busting the original.

I run a lot of old XP VMs for older software. They are great because they are so fast on modern hardware and you can run a bunch of them at the same time because they are so small.

If you are going to virtualise then I recommend getting a sold state disk first. Actually I recommend that under all conditions :)

If you post specifics, we can coach you through specifics.