TIA Portal Maths functions

Meyers Mills

Hi Folks
I hope this is not a dumb question,I am a newbie . I want to perform simple math functions like multiplication, addition etc in TIA Portal V15.
I have created a default tag table and called the tags in my Lad diagram. I have a challeng assigning values to the input tags. Help

PLC Input tags (I6.0, IB8, etc) come from the actual devices out in the field, like a pushbutton, level sensor, or motor encoder. You probably shouldn't be assigning values directly to those.

Try to explain what you are attempting to achieve.

If the reason that you want to assign values to inputs is to test some code you have written, then if you are using PLCSIM to test the code, in PLCSIM you can manipulate inputs in a way that is not possible with real inputs.
In order to do this you have to change PLCSIMs display mode from simple mpde to project mode. Then you can find the addresses folder where you can directly change the status of inputs.

Hi Folks
I hope this is not a dumb question,I am a newbie . I want to perform simple math functions like multiplication, addition etc in TIA Portal V15.
I have created a default tag table and called the tags in my Lad diagram. I have a challeng assigning values to the input tags. Help

The tag table doesn't hold any memory as such... so I'd advise that you don't worry about it for now.

Create a Data block with a variety of data types like BOOL, INT and REAL. This is actual memory in the processor that you can use for calculations.

Then in OB1 (for now), put your calculation like add the first INT variable to the second INT variable and transfer it to the third INT variable.