The end of PLCs?

jakeparsons03

I was looking at valves today for a project and one of the options they came with was an ethernet connection. Over my short time as a controls engineer I have noticed just about every instrument I spec out has an ethernet option. This lead me to the thought of what if we just got ethernet connections back to a network rack then had a server running as a PLC. I am sure that exists in some form, maybe not on an industrial level at this point.

But if you could eliminate the need for a 10-15k plc cabinet or series of plc cabinets and just replace it with a server and network rack that may or may not be already existing, I would think that would be more advantageous given the amount of data you could pull over ethernet. With IIOT gaining a lot more traction, this seems to be the direction we are being pulled in.

I was wondering if any of you have seen something like this done in the field today.

Distributed IO has been a thing for at least 20-30 years.
As to a central CPU placement, today you can have a 'traditional' controller, or a software based controller. Some of these software controllers that I know of are running under Windows, but there is a clear trend away from Windows and towards realtime Linux or Open BSD.

edit: There will be no "end to PLCs". But the classical control cabinet with a massive PLC and 1000s of terminals and wires and cables may be the exception. The norm will be that IO (incl. intelligent IO such as drives and instrumentation) will be tied in by a network protocol.

Last edited:
Back in 1988 I started working in the warehouse for A-B in a local sales office while I was going to school at night. In the copy/literature room there was an article posted next to the copier. I think it was from Control Engineering and it was titled "The Death of the PLC". It forecasted that PCs would soon be running everything so there would be no need for dedicated PLCs.