siemens step 5 function blocks

stevelawson

Siemens Step 5 Function Blocks Post #1

Hi everyone, this is my first time on this forum and i thought i would just test the water.
So here goes, can anybody explain to me how to fault find on programs written in function blocks.
My basic problem is understanding the purpose of the =m001 =m002 etc. statements that follow a set of conditions and end in either conditional or unconditional jumps.
What do they mean and how do i status where the FB has stopped when experiencing a fault.
i hope this makes sense.
Many thanks steve.

Hello Steve;
The jump to label (conditional or unconditionnal) are used in STL programming to control program execution. most instructions (math, comare...) are not conditionnal in Step 5 STL, so if they are loaded in the processor they are executed. To make sure they are not read into the processor, you jump over them if conditions are not right.

For example:

AN F100.0 // flag F100.0 is not set
JNC M001 // check if the earlier statement is true
L FW102 //execute the add function if satement is true
L FW103
+F
T FW220

M001: L FW101 // if original logic is not true, execute this logic
L FW103
+F
T FW220

//at the end of this block, FW220 will contain the
//result of one sum or the other,
//on the state of flag F100.0

Now if your processor has gone to Stop, check the B-stack and the I-stack through the Test functions of step 5. These will tell you what block and what instruction were being processed when the stop arrived, and the probable cause of the fault.

Hope this helps,
Daniel Chartier