You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 21st, 2016, 07:57 AM   #1
Andrew03
Member
Norway

Andrew03 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2
RSLogix Micro Starter Lite communication with Cimplicity SCADA

Hi,

I am new to Allen Bradely PLCs. I am trying to communicate the RSLogix Micro Starter Lite and RSLogix Emulate on EMU500-1 driver (no hardware) with Proficy Cimplicity SCADA 8.1. As such my PLC program on RSLogix Emulate is working fine. But not able to take it further with Cimplicity SCADA.

In Cimplicity project settings I selected the AB drivers as, 1. AB Ethernet, 2. Allen Bradely DF-1

Questions:

1. Does RSLogix Micro Starter Lite supports any SCADA?

2. In Cimplicity SCADA I am getting the "Router Failed" message, Is that because it is not able to communicate with the H/W which is absent?

3. Is there any way I can make it to work?

Your kind help will be much appreciated!

Thanks in advance,

Andrew.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2016, 08:51 AM   #2
BigJon1023
Member
United States

BigJon1023 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 32
To the best of my knowledge GE doesn't talk to lower end AB stuff with out an IGS of some form.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2016, 03:37 PM   #3
Andrew03
Member
Norway

Andrew03 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2
Hi BigJon1023,

Thank you for your reply. But in Cimplicity project settings I can see those two drivers (1. AB Ethernet, 2. Allen Bradely DF-1) which are also in RSLogix Micro Starter Lite, so I suspect it might be supporting lower end PLCs of AB.

Regards,
Andrew
  Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2016, 03:42 PM   #4
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is online now
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 6,600
Cimplicity can communicate with AB hardware, but unless RESEmulate can communicate with external devices using standard AB protocols, I doubt if Cimplicity can talk to it. Think about it. What would be the incentive for a SCADA vendor to expend resources to develop a driver talk to a PLC simulator?

Last edited by Steve Bailey; November 21st, 2016 at 03:46 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2016, 08:07 PM   #5
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 9,945
The only way you might be able to make this work would be a licensed version of RSLinx that supports DDE/OPC. I don't know anything about Cimplicity or its drivers, so I say it might work.
__________________
It's not all the variables I am most concerned with, it's the undiscovered constants.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2016, 08:51 AM   #6
Archie
Member
United States

Archie is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Orangeburg, SC
Posts: 1,783
I have not done this personally, but a number of AdvancedHMI users were able to use the standard DF1 serial driver with RSEmulate500. If Cimplicity has a serial DF1 driver, then I will guess the same method will work. There was mention of a piece of software called com0com. There is a post with screen shots and details of how they were able to get it to work:

http://advancedhmi.com/forum/index.p...sg4427#msg4427
__________________
Expectations lead to disappointment. Appreciation leads to satisfaction.

AdvancedHMI - HMI Software without the license key hassles
  Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2016, 09:15 AM   #7
Steve Bailey
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Steve Bailey is online now
 
Steve Bailey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The boondocks of Western Massachusetts USA
Posts: 6,600
I can confirm that Cimplicity has a native DF1 serial driver.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logix 5000 install problem smiller LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 May 26th, 2015 10:47 PM
AB PanelView 300 Micro communication issues Clutchbone LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 20 April 23rd, 2015 02:50 PM
AB PLC communication to Drive and SCADA randheerp LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 March 2nd, 2012 01:44 AM
Communication problem between CompactLogix and SCADA Johnpath LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 December 28th, 2011 06:52 AM
RSLogix 5000 V15 Features Samneggs LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 April 20th, 2006 06:45 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 PM.


.