Engineering degree - worthwhile for me?

PLCBox

Hi guys,

I have a technical diploma and am a technologist working in automation.

I am considering going back to school for an engineering degree with the thought that there will be less travel, more pay, and greater opportunities for advancement as I get older.

I have two questions:

1) I have the opportunity to enter into the Elect. Eng. program, and also Mech. Eng. and Software Eng. The most transfer credits I will receive is in the Mech Eng. program due to the way my technology diploma was structured. However, I can also take the Electrical or Software with just a few additional make up courses. I enjoy working with PLCs and controls and I like programming (at least at this point in my life). Should I do the EE program? Can Mech Eng's still do controls stuff? Also any opinion on the Software Eng. degree?

2) I am almost 30 years old, but I have this opportunity to go back for 2 or 3 years and get the degree. I don't have kids/wife right now so it is possible to do, but I worry about graduating at 32 with minimal experience. If I don't go back there's 2 or 3 years extra experience and money I could get with the tech. diploma. I think after 10 or 15 years the money would even out and then I would start making more with the Engineering degree. What do you guys think? I guess the question isn't "Am I too old" since everyone always seems to say "no you're never too old". Maybe the question should be "Is it a good decision to go back?"

I went back to school at 31 graduated in 1989 with a Masters. Worked more in that field until 1996 when I decided that had been a poor career move. I to some extent regret what I did especially dollar wise but had some very enjoyable times, learned a whole lot both in school and in the field and most important to me I NEVER ask myself "what if I had tried?.

They cannot take the knowledge and experiences back.