S7 Profibus DP parameter download

JohnW

This is probably aimed at Jesper.

I have a S7 300 with a Simocode pro c motor controller connected on profibus DP. How can I detect if a new Simocode unit with default settings (including the DP address) has been fitted and download the parameters and new DP address from the S7 315 2DP?

Regards,

John.

I wouldnt have responded to your post if it wasnt particularly directed at me. The reason is that I have zero experience with Simocode stuff. So bear with me, I will try to guess.

Most slave devices on Profibus that I know of have the bus node set with dip switches. So you are saying that a Simocode has its DP node address set in the downloaded configuration ?

If so, it would be the same a CPU with the default address (2). Do you know what default address Simocode comes with ?
If there is a default address, then you should make sure that you do not use this address with any other Profibus node (slave or master) in your network.
If that is OK, then proceed like this (I believe, its all guesswork):
Add the new Simocode unit in the Profibus network in the STEP7 hardware configuration. Assign a Profibus node address other than the default address (!).
With the new Simocode unit attached to the Profibus network, you should be able to download the configuration. I believe the easiest will be if your PC is connected on the same Profibus network.

(The following I am unsure about)
When downloading I think that you will be prompted with a list of available nodes. You should then specify to which node you want to download. Hit the "View" button, and the list should be updated with all the nodes prsently on the network. Probably you have to select the Simocode unit with the default address in order to download the changed configuration (including the new address).

Good luck.

IMPORTANT UPDATE !!!

I couldnt help myself but had to dig into that Simocode stuff.

Here is what I have found out: