You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 10th, 2013, 04:47 PM   #1
Elcan
Member
United States

Elcan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 656
RSLogix 5000 bit stuck.

Hello All,
I wish everybody a happy 2013!

I have this issue. In one of our control panels we have a CompactLogix 1769-L32E and a Red Lion G310.
It seems that the bit associated with the NO momentary Start button for a motor is ON all the time. It's like it is stuck, so the motor wants to start all the time, the Stop button is useless. I think I've seen this before, but I was in the field and toggled the bit, and now I am not in the field.
Has anybody seen this before? Is there a "cure" for it? Maybe the problem is not the PLC but the HMI.

I will appreciate your comments!

Thank you.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2013, 05:00 PM   #2
dcooper33
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

dcooper33 is offline
 
dcooper33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Rogers, AR
Posts: 692
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elcan View Post
Hello All,
I wish everybody a happy 2013!

I have this issue. In one of our control panels we have a CompactLogix 1769-L32E and a Red Lion G310.
It seems that the bit associated with the NO momentary Start button for a motor is ON all the time. It's like it is stuck, so the motor wants to start all the time, the Stop button is useless. I think I've seen this before, but I was in the field and toggled the bit, and now I am not in the field.
Has anybody seen this before? Is there a "cure" for it? Maybe the problem is not the PLC but the HMI.

I will appreciate your comments!

Thank you.
HMI buttons are notorious for "sticking" on. I always add a ONS after HMI pb just for this reason.

A Crimson guru can help you more with why the bit is sticking.
__________________
Fail Early. Fail Often. Iterate.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2013, 05:08 PM   #3
Brijm
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Brijm is offline
 
Brijm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: St. Marys, PA
Posts: 639
Normally, for an HMI, a momentary push button requires two writes. A 1 when you push the button, and a 0 when released. Have you tried to have them hit the start button again?

I had a similar issue with a G310 last year, I would have to push the button multiple times to get it to write, and then it wouldn't shutoff. Tech support recommended sending in the unit, so I asked if I could erase the memory, and re-flash the firmware. Held the top two buttons during power up, clear the memory, and re-downloaded it. This took care of the problem.

I've never had a problem other than this, with buttons sticking on.
__________________
Brian
  Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2013, 08:03 PM   #4
Paully's5.0
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Paully's5.0 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: WI
Posts: 1,918
I avoid momentary buttons for this reason. I always toggle to 1 with the HMI, the PLC toggles to 0. It's a good handshake.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2013, 07:56 AM   #5
Elcan
Member
United States

Elcan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 656
Thank you for your comments!
I think it has something to do with the HMI, too. Let's see if a Crimson guru steps in.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2013, 12:01 PM   #6
TConnolly
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

TConnolly is offline
 
TConnolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 6,147
Do you have a copy of the crimson file? Can you zip it and attach it and let us know what tag?
__________________
True craftsmanship is only one more power tool away.

That's the beauty of processors, they don't have emotions they just run code - The PLC Kid.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2013, 02:24 PM   #7
Elcan
Member
United States

Elcan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by TConnolly View Post
Do you have a copy of the crimson file? Can you zip it and attach it and let us know what tag?
I don't think my boss will allow me to publish the whole HMI project, but I will be happy to post pictures of any windows you are interested in.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2013, 02:34 PM   #8
bce123
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

bce123 is offline
 
bce123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: texas
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
but I will be happy to post pictures of any windows you are interested in.
In this case a picture is not worth a thousand words!
__________________
"You can teach a dog to sit and lie down but then he justs gets lazy"
  Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2013, 03:23 PM   #9
Elcan
Member
United States

Elcan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by bce123 View Post
In this case a picture is not worth a thousand words!
Maybe not.
But if somebody need to know the settings I'm using, pictures of the tag tabs can be of help.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2013, 03:36 PM   #10
TConnolly
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

TConnolly is offline
 
TConnolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 6,147
That's going to be a lot of pictures.

At a minimum we would need to see the button properties (all tabs) and also the tag properties (data and format tabs). If there is any program associated with the button and the tag we need to see that as well.

Are you using Crimson 3 or Crimson 2?

If you can't post that information then contact Redlion tech support and send them the Crimson DB - Redlion tech support is usually very helpful.
__________________
True craftsmanship is only one more power tool away.

That's the beauty of processors, they don't have emotions they just run code - The PLC Kid.
  Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2013, 03:54 PM   #11
bernie_carlton
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

bernie_carlton is offline
 
bernie_carlton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yakima, Washington
Posts: 6,124
I don't know if this will help but I had this problem on a totally different HMI. I was trying to be fancy and signal the HMI to switch screens on an event, that of the button press. As it was a momentary the screen switched before the screen's logic could capture the release, so the bit stayed on.

There are two possible fixes. One, already noted, is to have the HMI button just turn ON the internal location and let the PLC logic turn it back off. The other is to respond to the release (turn OFF) of the button.
__________________
Controlling outputs is the PLC's way of getting its inputs to change.

www.thePLCguy.com
  Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2013, 06:44 PM   #12
curlyandshemp
Lifetime Supporting Member
Canada

curlyandshemp is offline
 
curlyandshemp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paully's5.0 View Post
I avoid momentary buttons for this reason. I always toggle to 1 with the HMI, the PLC toggles to 0. It's a good handshake.
Only HMIs I have found where the momentary does not get stuck ON or OFF are the PV (PV+) and Magelis XBGT.

In PLC code I will now unlatch any momentary in PLC logic once momentary has achieved its task within the PLC program.
__________________
Work to Ride,
Then Ride to Work

I would rather have a bottle in front of me..
than have a frontal lobotomy
  Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2013, 10:18 PM   #13
bce123
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

bce123 is offline
 
bce123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: texas
Posts: 1,173
Quote:
Is there a "cure" for it?
OSR and OSF instructions you logic can look for stuck buttons all the time. you could turn on internal bits and set timers to give you alarms when the buttons are stuck. This could prevent someone from getting hurt or prevent them blaming you for an allegedly stuck button. Thats the beauty of PLCs they do as their told (most of the time) and they don't talk back much. there are many ways around this problem just use your imagination!!
__________________
"You can teach a dog to sit and lie down but then he justs gets lazy"
  Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2015, 10:04 AM   #14
Elcan
Member
United States

Elcan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 656
Hi all,
This is an old post, but I would like to compile a good set of solutions for this issue.
From the previous comments:
Quote:
HMI buttons are notorious for "sticking" on. I always add a ONS after HMI push button just for this reason.
But if the HMI Push button is stuck, would this prevent the motor to start again?
Quote:
I always toggle to 1 with the HMI, the PLC toggles to 0. It's a good handshake.
Could you show a sample code?
Quote:
OSR and OSF instructions you logic can look for stuck buttons all the time. you could turn on internal bits and set timers to give you alarms when the buttons are stuck. This could prevent someone from getting hurt or prevent them blaming you for an allegedly stuck button.
Is this a fix or just an alarm?

It would be nice to finish this post with a good set of ideas, so everybody can use them as a reference in the future.

Thank you!
  Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2015, 06:55 AM   #15
Elcan
Member
United States

Elcan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 656
Nobody?
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PID Control Action Mode in RSLOGIX 5000 plcnovel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 May 4th, 2017 10:31 AM
RSLOGIX 5000 Error Message introl LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 March 15th, 2015 08:39 AM
Help a RSLogix 5 guy learn to search RSLogix 5000 wildswing LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 March 25th, 2009 12:05 PM
RSLogix 5000 data file advice/preference rta53 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 18 June 29th, 2006 01:10 AM
RSLogix 5000 eastkodakguy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 3rd, 2002 11:28 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 AM.


.