Beginner PLC: Configure Ethernet/IP Connection

luisarcher

I am really new to PLCs programming, connecting, etc.
I received a 1756-L72 ControlLogix with a Logix5572 Processor and an EthernetIP card. My goal here is to connect it to my laptop along with another device (a Bar Code Reader). Both devices are connected to an unmanaged ethernet switch which is then connected to my ethernet port on my laptop.

Now, the problem is that all my Rockwell Softwares are on a VM and also, I do not have administrator rights on the OS. Therefore, I need to connect all those devices to the VM on my laptop and it does not seem to work.
My ethernet IP on the VM is 192.168.198.128 while my PLC is 192.168.0.205. I know I have to get the 3 first equal but I don't know how to change my PLC IP address (since I do not have admin rights in my OS, I cannot change the IP from the host). I tried this website steps but it did not work. I know it does not work since when I configure the Ethernet/IP driver on RSLinx, my PLC is not appearing, even if I set it to browse Remote Subnet

http://www.buckles-smith.com/Tech-Blog/how-to-connect-to-allen-bradley-ethernet-enabled-devices

I know it might not be clear, so I'm available to answer any questions you guys have.

Thanks a lot,
luisarcher

Welcome to the Forum!

There is no way around this issue if you do not have administrative credentials for the Host PC; the Host's NIC or any eventual USB-to-Ethernet adapters will need to be addressed on the same subnet as the ControLogix 1756-ENBT module and the BCR.

Contact an Administrator of the Host machine and request the change to be performed by someone authorized to do so.

So a couple things.....

What software are you using for the VMs? VMware Workstation or Player, Virtualbox, Hyper-V?

Are you able to open a Command Prompt window and ping the EtherNet/IP module?

OG

Admin rights are going to take a while since I'm just an intern...
I was trying to find another solution while waiting. :cry: