You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 25th, 2019, 12:17 AM   #1
kulmaint
Member
Australia-Aboriginal

kulmaint is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: AUSTRALIA
Posts: 38
Power flex drive

F005 fault appearing on power flex drive
plz tell me how to reset
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2019, 12:23 AM   #2
dmroeder
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmroeder is online now
 
dmroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,178
F005 is an over voltage fault. Simply pressing the stop button on the front of the drive will reset it.

There are other ways to reset your drive depending on the part number and how it is connected to your PLC.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2019, 12:38 AM   #3
kulmaint
Member
Australia-Aboriginal

kulmaint is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: AUSTRALIA
Posts: 38
Thanks but problem not solved
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2019, 01:07 AM   #4
dmroeder
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmroeder is online now
 
dmroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,178
Pressing the stop button on the drive didn't reset the fault?

I'm certain that will reset the fault. If your problem is something else, I would encourage you to provide as much detail as you can.

If you are looking for advice as to why you are getting a F005 fault, it is typically because something is driving your motor. For example, a heavy load trying to stop too fast.

Describe all of the hardware involved, the specific application and what you are trying to solve.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2019, 06:25 AM   #5
ktmtragic
Member
Australia

ktmtragic is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sydney
Posts: 69
Possibly the keypad is disabled. Power down and restart. Check the access parameters.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2019, 10:02 AM   #6
jraef
Member
United States

jraef is offline
 
jraef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,744
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmroeder View Post
Pressing the stop button on the drive didn't reset the fault?

I'm certain that will reset the fault. If your problem is something else, I would encourage you to provide as much detail as you can.

If you are looking for advice as to why you are getting a F005 fault, it is typically because something is driving your motor. For example, a heavy load trying to stop too fast.

Describe all of the hardware involved, the specific application and what you are trying to solve.
Or, there really is a line over voltage condition and it is still there after you reset it...
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2019, 02:32 PM   #7
_Dock_
Member
United States

_Dock_ is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: KY
Posts: 71
Most likely cause of that is fault is regen being dumped on the dc bus of the drive from the motor. Adjust your decel and or ramps and run again. If you can’t you need a braking resistor.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2019, 07:01 PM   #8
rupej
Member
United States

rupej is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 591
One thing I see sometimes is when a drive is set to "coast" stop mode and is stopped and restarted again quickly before the motor stops, the drive will try to start from 0Hz and the resulting regen causes the overvoltage trip.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2019, 05:21 AM   #9
drforsythe
Member
United States

drforsythe is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Metro Detroit, Michigan
Posts: 57
I agree with jraef. What voltage are you reading at the incoming power terminals of the drive? Resetting the fault is one thing, but knowing what caused the fault will help minimize any future resets.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Flex Repair ceilingwalker LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 October 2nd, 2018 06:05 AM
Over speed fault on Power Flex 525. sicsai LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 August 31st, 2018 08:15 PM
PF700 drive will not restart remotely unless power cycling drive remullis LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 October 18th, 2012 06:46 PM
1336 impact drive going to default parameters careed_25 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 August 18th, 2010 10:33 AM
Braking resistor for drive. AndEdtec LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 27 December 10th, 2004 12:33 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 AM.


.