Newbie-Need Help w latch/unlatch or flip/flop?

neluxu

Hi all,
my first post here, I've been lurking for a while.
I'm a beginner and I hit a wall on one of my first projects I'm working on.
I know it must be an easy solution and I'm overthinking it.

The project is a combining gate, I have bottles coming on two separate conveyors combined into one. sounds simple enough, but... there's always something.
Everything works fine but when both infeed lanes are backed up, my gate will not swing from one side to another, because by the time there's demand on the single lane, the ready condition on the same infeed lane is satisfied and the cycle repeats itself, with the other lane backing up.
Please see the attached sketch for a better understanding.

The logic for the system is:
Stops on LN1 and LN2 are closed
Bottles accumulate on the Infeed Lanes LN1 and LN2,
when they reach PE on LN1 (I:1) and respectively LN2 (I:2) and sees them for a certain time, my LN1 or LN2 Ready Bits turn ON.
If there's demand on LN3 (I:7), the gate will swing to the Lane that is Ready first, if PE Gate Clear is Clear (I:5) (it will always be on one lane-spring return solenoid), then when the Prox Switch sees the gate is in position, the STOP on the respective lane (O:1 or O:2) will open and let the bottles go thru.
When the bottles reach PE Lane 3 Stack Control (I:6), the Stop on the lane closes and waits for the next Lane 3 Demand.
The problem appears when the bottles stack up again on the same lane that just fed Lane 3, and the cycle starts again on the same lane, ignoring the other lane that was ready.
There is a GAP on the incoming bottles on the infeed lanes (backup pressure gates) that I could use to trigger some latch/unlatch ready/not ready and make the gate swing to the Lane that was ready first, but I never used anything like that or a FIFO block, or maybe a counter, or two timers and compare them, but I'm unsuccessful so far in my tries.