New to Siemens Plcs and need help

Tboller

Hi, I have been wanting to do some work on a Siemens PLC. Only some basic operations. I am not very experienced with PLC's however I can use Allen Bradley software (Rs500) reasonably well and I have found that I cannot operate Siemen's software at all. I am using Simatic Manager because I will be programming on a S7-300 in the near future.

My objective will be- I wanted to use the 'Real time clock' to bring on an output to make an alarm go off at certain times during the day. *I will be making an alarm go off at different times of the day to let workers know when they can go on their breaks*.
I found the 'Read_CLK' SFC1 in the library, i had no idea what to do with that?

Alternate to the "Rs500" software that I am used to, I don't understand what all the 'blocks' are for in "Simatic Manager". Comparing using the two software I would have hoped I would had at least an idea on how to operate Siemens; I do not.
I was wondering if there was a bit of information on how to use this software for 'dummies'.
Basic things like Language for Inputs, Outputs etc. I am really starting from scratch it feels when I look at Siemens.

Any feedback would be really helpful, Thanks.

The best way to get up to speed on this is a Siemens training course. I know in my area Siemens itself and many distributors offer these courses, and some tech colleges are starting to as well.

That said, there are some other resources you can use. The Siemens support website is http://support.automation.siemens.com, and you can find various manuals for just about everything, as well as a Siemens focused forum. Fair warning, the manuals are typically written as reference documents for experts, and not a how-to. In addition to the manuals, they have many FAQ's and programming examples.