You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 11th, 2021, 09:33 AM   #1
stu
Member
England

stu is offline
 
stu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England
Posts: 675
Tia portal question sending data between 2 plcs

Hi all
I have a project on the go and would like to send data from a Siemens 1500 to a Siemens 1200
What is the best function to use ,would it be a put instruction I need to use on the 1500 and a get instruction on the 1200?

Or should I use a TSEND_C from the 1500 and a TRCV_C on the 1200?
Thanks stu
  Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2021, 09:59 AM   #2
destination unknown
Member
Ireland

destination unknown is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 32
Have a look at i-device

https://support.industry.siemens.com...dti=0&lc=en-WW
  Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2021, 12:13 PM   #3
BryanG
Member
United Kingdom

BryanG is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,641
I use Put and Get without too many headaches. You have to enable it in Device Configuration / Protection and Security.
__________________
Knowledge is power, share the knowledge.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2021, 01:05 PM   #4
stu
Member
England

stu is offline
 
stu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England
Posts: 675
Ok thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2021, 02:41 PM   #5
Lare
Member
Finland

Lare is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,664
Put and get inscructions are configured only master PLC.
On TIA you need to allow them for another PLC.


TSEND_C and TRCV_C needs coding on both PLCs.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2021, 04:20 AM   #6
stu
Member
England

stu is offline
 
stu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England
Posts: 675
The plan would be having a master plc the sends data to 4 plc but I'm just looking a sending data from the master to plc1?
So I'm thinking I will need to do TSEND _C TRCV_C Is that all I need
  Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2021, 05:20 AM   #7
BryanG
Member
United Kingdom

BryanG is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,641
Nice video that does just that and shows exactly how to set it all up, it will save you a tonne of frustration:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OLLm-BbHRMM


I haven't watched it but they same guy has a video on using Put/Get, you know, just in case you change your mind :
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xiJE2_flTAc
__________________
Knowledge is power, share the knowledge.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2021, 03:47 AM   #8
janner_10
Lifetime Supporting Member
United Kingdom

janner_10 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Tewkesbury
Posts: 1,178
Siemens To Siemens I've always used Put / Get

TSEND etc I usually use for anything else that's TCP
  Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2021, 04:01 AM   #9
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 14,924
I recommend to go for BSEND/BRECV.
These blocks works with all S7 PLCs both S7-300/400/1200/1500 and by the most methods. You also have control on the both sides where the data is fetched and store respectively.
They are easy to setup.

PUT/GET is quite simple, but there are these things to be aware of:
You need to enable PUT/GET access on the remote CPU, something that security aware customers may not accept.
By mistake or by malicious intent, a PUT can write harmful data into ANY memory location on the remote CPU.

T_SEND/T_RECV are more open ended, and allows you to sepcify the connection parameters in code, so they can be changed at runtime. That means they are also a bit more tricky to setup.

Profinet I-Device is suitable for small data volumes that must be transferred cyclically and deterministic. Quite easy to setup. But you cannot make changes at runtime. Any modification to the data transfer requires CPU stop on both sides.
__________________
Jesper
See my profile interests for Q&A
  Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2021, 04:36 AM   #10
m_turk
Member
Croatia

m_turk is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: ZG
Posts: 237
I think PUT/GET works best if it is one project and your network..


Quote:
Originally Posted by JesperMP View Post
I recommend to go for BSEND/BRECV.
These blocks works with all S7 PLCs both S7-300/400/1200/1500 and by the most methods.
I don't think s7-1200 supports BSEND..
  Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2021, 06:04 AM   #11
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 14,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_turk View Post
I don't think s7-1200 supports BSEND..
You are right. I thought it was universal in the s7 family. But appeaeantly not for s7-1200.
__________________
Jesper
See my profile interests for Q&A
  Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2021, 03:11 PM   #12
stu
Member
England

stu is offline
 
stu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England
Posts: 675
Thanks guys that worked a treat
  Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2021, 03:15 AM   #13
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 1,944
Depending on your network configuration I'd go with UDP multicasts for that. I can't remember the instruction that did the comms but it was something like BSEND or similar. A search for UDP should pop up a result with a sort of scheduler example too.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TIA Portal make a muli instance of timers in one global db dahnuguy LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 August 19th, 2019 10:48 AM
Data logging using TIA portal v15 kazmi1215 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 March 8th, 2019 10:28 AM
The new Logix platform Firejo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 20 November 9th, 2018 12:45 PM
TIA PORTAL Historical Data chandrapaul LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 10th, 2018 10:39 AM
TIA Portal Question MorphuisOGrady LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 June 27th, 2017 11:35 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:42 AM.


.