PID Question

ToddM

Hi Folks
I started studying the PID block and kind of expierimenting with it on my test PLC at work. In the help files I found this.
Controller Gain Kc Type in a value. (With 5/02 controllers the valid range is 0.1 to 25.5. With the 5/03, 5/04, and 5/05 controllers the valid range = 0 to 3276.7) This is the proportional gain. Generally set this gain to one half the value needed to cause the output to oscillate when the reset and rate terms are set to zero. Note: RG bit must be set to accept values exceeding 25.5 when using 5/03, 5/04, and 5/05 processors.
I have a Senix ultra sonic sensor connected to I:1.1 of my analog input card.{I would have included a screenshot of the logic,but we had a busy day and it was close to shift change when I did this.}I left the reset and rate at 0 and double clicked the proportional gain and started adjusting it.I tried several times and I wasn't quite sure what I should be looking for or even if I was doing this correctly. I have the sensor in a vice so it won't move. If anyone could give me some insight I would be greatful.
Thanks and later...Todd

One note on ultrasonics - some brands of ultrasonic level sensors malfunction when tightened to tightly into an NPT threaded connection. The guts of an ultrasonic are a speaker (generates ultrasonic frequency) and a microphone (listens for ultrasonic echo) both of which have some form of diaphragm. If I were you, I'd be careful of how tightly I squeezed the sensor in a vise.

A ID loop consists of
1) an analog input (your ultrasonic sensor which is the process variable or PV),
2) a PID function in the PLC which calculates the output (0-100%) necessary to maintain the PV at the setpoint (SP) which you establish.
3) an output, typically a 4-20mA analog output
4) a final control element, something like a proportioning valve that modulates something which the sensor senses.