my first project

steven.bishop

Hi, i have just been given my first work based plc project. I have to set up a system that counts pallets entering a heat run on a conveyor line. Each loaded pallet must remain in the heat run for 30min. Once the time is complete then they are allowed to move on to the next process. My problem is that i have limited knowledge of shift registers. Am i looking in the right direction or should i be looking at another way to control the pallets through the heat run?

PLC?
How many pallets in the heat run at same time?
Does the conveyor stop or does it stay running?

Bob O

There are between 10-15 pallets passing through the heat run at any one time. The pallets will contiue to enter the heat run but a stopper at the end of the run will prevent the pallets from leaving until the 30 min time period is complete.

First thought is to adjust the conveyor speed to keep the pallets in the heat run for 30 min. This assumes that the conveyor stays running.

Bob O

i would use a FILO array as such.

If pallet 1 arrives at 10:00, then store 10:30 in the array.
If pallet 2 arrives at 10:15, then store 10:45 in the array.
If pallet 3 arrives at 10:35, then store 11:05 in the array.
If pallet 4 arrives at 11:00, then store 11:30 in the array.

in this array you now have
[1] 10:30
[2] 10:45
[3] 11:05
[4] 11:30

Look at this array, when the first register [1] equals the time, open the exit gate for 1 pallet then shift the array up one, removing the first piece of data, so the array is now

[1] 10:45
[2] 11:05
[3] 11:30

Look at this array again, when the first register [1] equals the time, open the exit gate for 1 pallet then shift the array up one, removing the first piece of data, so the array is now

[1] 11:05
[2] 11:30

Just repeat these 2 seperate processes ad-infinitum.

Of course, there are more complications to take into consideration. I would not recommend using the time but perhaps a relative time measurement. I hope this helps somewhat...