You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 13th, 2018, 03:53 AM   #1
Lukas01
Member
Croatia

Lukas01 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 7
Factory Talk View - Data Log - Trends

Hi,

I only need confirmation regarding the data log of Factory Talk View. I have 27 tags that I show on trends. I want to see trend of each tag for last month period and I calculated that each of 27 tags get 37,037 points (max is 1,000,000 points)?! I can set periodically log of 72 seconds == that would be for month enough.

My question is, can I divide 27 tags on several data log models (want to have more often periodically log) or only one data log model is possible to use?

Best regards

Luka
  Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2018, 06:20 AM   #2
A_G
Member
United States

A_G is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lukas01 View Post

My question is, can I divide 27 tags on several data log models (want to have more often periodically log) or only one data log model is possible to use?
You can have several data log models. You can use different tags on each data log model, or use some of the same tags.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2018, 06:49 AM   #3
Lukas01
Member
Croatia

Lukas01 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 7
I will try to explain better (my question is not very clear). I know that I can divide tags in several data logs, but I will try to explain on this example:

1. Solution:
I am using 1 Data log model with 1,000,000 points. I have inside that Data log model 27 tag. I calculated that if I want to see last month period of all tags
I need to set periodically log of 72 seconds.

2. Solution:

I have 3 Data log modes and each of them is using 1,000,000 points:
Data Log Model 1 - has 10 tags (using 1,000,000 points)
Data Log Model 2 - has 10 tags (using 1,000,000 points)
Data Log Model 3 - has 7 tags (using 1,000,000 points)

For Data log Model 1 and 2, I can set periodically log of 26 seconds to get last month period, and for Data Log Model 3, periodically log is 18 seconds.

For me, solution 2 is much better because I will get much faster refresh of tags on trends but the question is, is it possible? I read that Factory Talk View Machine Edition Design/runtime has limitation on Data Log model (quote: "at runtime, only one data log model is supported").

Regards
  Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2018, 09:23 AM   #4
A_G
Member
United States

A_G is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 87
Sorry, I'm not sure what you mean by "points". Can you send a screenshot of your Datalog setup?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2018, 10:44 AM   #5
Lukas01
Member
Croatia

Lukas01 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Zagreb
Posts: 7
In pic you can see that the max data points is 1,000,000.
Also in 'startup' setting you could add only one data log model. If this 'startup' setting limits usage of data log models than I can't use solution 2 that I previously mentioned. Only need confirmation that I can't use solution 2 or maybe there is another way to solve my problem.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DataLogPic.jpg (36.5 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg StartupPic.jpg (21.5 KB, 6 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2018, 10:58 AM   #6
A_G
Member
United States

A_G is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MA
Posts: 87
Ok I see what you mean. Unfortunately I don't know, I have never tried to do this before. maybe someone else can help
  Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2018, 11:26 AM   #7
BlueAltezza
Member
United States

BlueAltezza is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lukas01 View Post
In pic you can see that the max data points is 1,000,000.
Also in 'startup' setting you could add only one data log model. If this 'startup' setting limits usage of data log models than I can't use solution 2 that I previously mentioned. Only need confirmation that I can't use solution 2 or maybe there is another way to solve my problem.
You're right: "You can define multiple data log models, but at run time you can use only one data log model at a time. Specify the model to use in the Startup editor."

Based on that, the only PV option you have is #1.

Option #3 would be a separate data collector
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Factory Talk View Data Logging Mihir_007 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 February 7th, 2016 09:43 PM
Log on to factory talk -Network Latha hema LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 January 1st, 2016 03:21 AM
Factory Talk ViewSE Data Logging to File - change of datatypes mzurtak LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 June 19th, 2015 04:10 PM
Wonderware linked to Factory Talk View fhervrylesestoso LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 April 23rd, 2013 03:55 AM
Factory Talk View Data Logging Tom Kazakoff LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 May 13th, 2009 12:18 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 PM.


.