You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 22nd, 2005, 04:27 AM   #1
jolio ST
Member
Singapore

jolio ST is offline
 
jolio ST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: central CDC
Posts: 292
Woodward handheld programmer

I would like to first start off by wishing everyone interacting @ PLCS.net Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
Now here's my situation. There will be a comissioning job soon for my colleague. The project will be at Nigeria and it involves 2 units of Kohler 1600 series engines. On every set of engine there is a ProAct 2 speed controller, programmable with a woodward 9907-205 handheld device. But the problem now is that, the device has broken down. I am not able to get a new one in time, and getting a new piece could cost a lot. I was wondering if anyone has the a brief knowhow on troubleshooting this device. I has opened up the casing and looked through and everything seemed fine.
Anyone able to help out with this? I appriciate all efforts. Thank you!

regards
Sherine T.
__________________
Inductive Load: Fuzzy Power Factor.
Reactive Load: Fuzzy Power Factor.
Capacitve Load: Fuzzy Power Factor.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2005, 07:57 AM   #2
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 10,021
This might help

http://www.woodward.com/pubs/downloa...F/IC/04176.PDF
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb
  Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2005, 08:03 PM   #3
jolio ST
Member
Singapore

jolio ST is offline
 
jolio ST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: central CDC
Posts: 292
Thank you very much Mickey. But it's not the problme with the Proact. I have the problem with the Hand-held device that isn't responding. I hope to receive some guidelines as to how to troubleshoot the hand-held.

regards
Sherine T.
__________________
Inductive Load: Fuzzy Power Factor.
Reactive Load: Fuzzy Power Factor.
Capacitve Load: Fuzzy Power Factor.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2005, 02:32 PM   #4
BobB
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

BobB is offline
 
BobB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,232
If you need to make changes to the settings in the Proact, you will need the hand held controller.
__________________
The Old Pfhaart

  Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2005, 02:48 PM   #5
rsdoran
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rsdoran is offline
 
rsdoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 7,372
I believe that is Julio's problem, he has the HANDHELD but it will not work and needs help troubleshooting it.

For whatever reason he can not get a replacement in time and possibly does not have the budget for a new one.
__________________
http://www.patchn.com Industrial Electrical & Maintenance @ www.patchn.com "Tell me and I forget, show me and I remember, involve me and I understand."
  Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2005, 05:25 PM   #6
BobB
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

BobB is offline
 
BobB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,232
Quote:
I believe that is Julio's problem, he has the HANDHELD but it will not work and needs help troubleshooting it.
Agreed, but the hanheld will be required if settings are to be changed. I know of no way to trouble shoot the handheld - except send it back to Woodward. It is possible that there may be some smart electronics person out there that may be able to help but unlikely.

The only other thing I can suggest is to have a look at the cable connections in case one of theme has come away or shorted.

The last time I had one of these fail, it had to go back to Woodward. Have not used a Proact for years by the way. Thought they had died a slow death.
__________________
The Old Pfhaart

  Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2005, 05:36 PM   #7
BobB
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

BobB is offline
 
BobB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,232
Just another thought, Woodward may be prepared to loan or hire a handheld for a short time to help you out. They have done that in Ozz for me before.

Another option would be to engage Woodward to tune the Proact - they will normally do it much quicker than an inexperienced operator. I normally engage them because they are tuning these things all the time and are therefore much better at it than I.
__________________
The Old Pfhaart

  Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2005, 07:15 PM   #8
jolio ST
Member
Singapore

jolio ST is offline
 
jolio ST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: central CDC
Posts: 292
Thanks guys for the advise. I made contact with the local Woodward representative and I am very sure they are not reliable in any sense. He told me the hand-held cannot be repaired once it's broken (in any way it is broken). So he suggested purchasing one, and they have to make an order all the way from the States (it will take maybe 12 weeks or more). I do not have 12 weeks of waiting time. There is no hire service for the handheld here. I may think about engaging the services of the woodward rep, but I'm definatly not going engage the local ones; Maybe one from Down-Under!

Thanks again!

regards
Sherine T.
P.S. I'm sure my nick sounds very male but I'm lass.
__________________
Inductive Load: Fuzzy Power Factor.
Reactive Load: Fuzzy Power Factor.
Capacitve Load: Fuzzy Power Factor.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2005, 03:36 AM   #9
BobB
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

BobB is offline
 
BobB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,232
Quote:
P.S. I'm sure my nick sounds very male but I'm lass.
That sounds very Scottish.

Maybe our local down under Woodward office is not as bad as we first thought.

Good luck Sherine.
__________________
The Old Pfhaart

  Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2005, 10:38 AM   #10
Rod
Member
United States

Rod is offline
 
Rod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ft Worth, TX
Posts: 535
Sherine,

Wish I had the device in hand, could probably fix it - but.

Check your cables very carefully, wiggle them as you try to communicate

You said you looked inside the case. Did anything look or smell burned?

Lightly jiggle and push on any wires and all the connectors inside (with power off and disconnected) I disconnect and reconnect all plug type connectors - corrosion problems.

I've never seen one BUT I'll bet there is an EPROM that is socketed, I would slightly lever up one end and rock the chip from end to end back into it's socket. Same goes for all other socketed devices. Don't lift an end more than a millimeter so the pins don't pop out.

And finally, since the device is 'un-repairable' and you have nothing to lose. I would give it a strong tap from all XYZ directions. Checking function between hits. It has worked for me in the past.

Good luck,
Rod (The CNC Dude) Only 15 years of field service
  Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2005, 01:23 PM   #11
rsdoran
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rsdoran is offline
 
rsdoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 7,372
One of the most important things is put in new batteries if it uses them.

Sherine, my apologies, I knew you were "she" not "he" and still used the wrong term.
__________________
http://www.patchn.com Industrial Electrical & Maintenance @ www.patchn.com "Tell me and I forget, show me and I remember, involve me and I understand."
  Reply With Quote
Old December 28th, 2005, 07:48 PM   #12
catserveng
Member
United States

catserveng is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 16
Sherine,

Is the system using an integrated speed control? Did the handheld ever work? The newer integrated controllers can use either the hand held or Watch Windows software, and the comm port con be reconfigured for each one.

The handhelds are fairly robust, but never been able to have one repaired when they failed. They are not as available as they have been in the past because all of the newer controllers use Watch Window (a free version for doing setup is available at Woodward's website).

There are two types of cables that can be used with Watch Window, either a straight serial cable, or a special cable with an RS422 to RS 232 convertor, depends on how the comm port gets set up.

You might contact Kohler to see what they used for original setup, if they used Watch Window then the handheld will not work until the port is reconfigured.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2005, 10:55 PM   #13
jolio ST
Member
Singapore

jolio ST is offline
 
jolio ST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: central CDC
Posts: 292


I opened the casing, and I do not see any burnt out chips/components. My biggest guess is that static distroyed some crucial ICs so it's almost like brain-dead. My other guess is the flim-like cable is broken somewhere (though I can't see any obvious signs of it).

I told my boss about contacting the woodward on the aussia but I got no response. So I'm left to wait out and see what will happen.

Regards
Sherine T.
__________________
Inductive Load: Fuzzy Power Factor.
Reactive Load: Fuzzy Power Factor.
Capacitve Load: Fuzzy Power Factor.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2015, 09:54 AM   #14
D rock
Member
Nigeria

D rock is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: owerri
Posts: 2
Am D rock
Plz can anyone advice me on how to get an affordable ProAct Handheld Programmer
Or is there any other programmer that can be used in place of this Programmer
  Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2015, 05:59 PM   #15
Lancie1
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Lancie1 is offline
 
Lancie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 10,002
Search for a used Woodward controller on Ebay at http://www.ebay.com

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_odkw...oller&_sacat=0

Last edited by Lancie1; April 22nd, 2015 at 06:03 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
melsec F2-20P plug in programmer 70w_SON LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 June 3rd, 2005 07:43 AM
Prosoft 3150-MCM and woodward jolio ST LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 April 8th, 2005 04:25 AM
Modicon PC0085 PLC handheld programmer booten LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 March 17th, 2005 01:54 PM
Powerpoint for using handheld programmer Platootod LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 24th, 2004 11:19 AM
need a programmer dawghogston LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 17 October 6th, 2003 05:42 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 AM.


.