Suggestions on how best to display SQL data on RsView screen.

SonicClang

I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions on how best to display SQL data on an RsView screen. As the operator is processing a batch we're recording data to the SQL database. I have a view setup in SQL already that displays the run from the currently running batch, and supervisors are already monitoring that information from an Access interface.

I can successfully display it if I use the Microsoft Chart 11 engine through an ActiveX control, but it's not quite as friendly as I'd like. I don't know of a way to refresh the data at run time, and the operators can right click on it and get into a bunch of options I'd rather keep them out of.

I have some VBA experience but not in RsView, although I'm willing to learn some if it gets me what I want. I opened the sample file that came with Rsview and there's a form report in the coffee section of the program that looks like it would fit our application, but the VB looks pretty complicated.

Sonic,

First, a question: Did the "SQL Data" originate in the RSView program, or in a PLC? If so, the easiest thing is to create another RSView graphic screen, similar to the attached. Use String Displays and Numeric Displays to show any type of data in rows and columns. On this screen, the Fuel Used and Total Time of Operation are internal calculated expressions using other tag names. The screen is formatted so that it can be printed out and mailed to the state bureau of air quality.

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/attachment.php?attachmentid=10002&stc=1&d=1238512867

RSView Sample Data Display Screen.jpg

Last edited: