Experts! Help Me Convert decimal to ASCII string!!

wlemst88

Hey guys, I've had some really good experiences here in the past, so I thought I'd present you with a little problem I've been having trouble solving myself.

Hardware: Allen-Bradley PLC 5/40 and Panelview 600

In concept its actually quite simple. I have a word, N42:54 that has a decimal value in it. The panelview views this word as a character array of size two and it shows up as a ASCII value. EX: N42:54 has the value "17224" which when converted to ASCII is "CH"

What I need is to somehow convert this word to ASCII and store it into a string, Call it ST15:7. I need this because I am trying to pull this value out of the datatable with OPC/DDE through MS Excel, and it pulls the value out as a decimal value instead of the ASCII. I have tried all I know, and I can't seem to get it to work.

Examples of what I have tried:
I used a TOD (to BCD) to convert N42:54 to BCD, then an AIC(Integer to ASCII string) to convert the value to a string. The BCD part worked, but the AIC just moved the result of the TOD into the string address.

I tried variations of the above, tried taking out the TOD, etc.

I am at a loss guys. Any ideas? Is it even possible?

Wes Lemstra

Wes-
Unfortunately I don't have a PLC5 here to try this on. But what you are doing with the AIC instruction should work if you don't use the TOD.
When you look in ST15:7 after you run the AIC, do you see 'CH' or do you see '17224'? If ST15:7 displays '17224' it is converted correctly.
One way you can look at the result is to use a copy (COP) and copy the contents of ST15:7 into an integer file. Something like
COP (#ST15:7 #N7:0 10).
This will copy the first ten words of ST15:7, which should contain your length as well as your data. View N7 in BCD format and you will see the actual ASCII codes. But note that the length is the first field in the string.